CD Reviews

Embassy Of Silence - 'Antler Velvet' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 17, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4966   0   1   0   0   0



A high quality female fronted metal record.

Embassy Of Silence is a Finnish gothic/atmospheric metal band whose origins lie in 2007 when Ines Lukkanen appeared as a guest with Tero Kalliomaki’s band Saattue. Following years of writing and putting together a demo and EP they released their debut album ‘Euphorialight’ in 2010. The band has gone through some line up changes since then but have now returned with their follow up ‘Antler Velvet’.

This is one that’s a little different from those generally found in the female fronted genre. ‘Trickster Queen’ has a huge gothic riff chugging away before the vocals arrive where the guitar takes a more melodic direction. Lukkanen’s vocals have a soft echoed effect which floats nicely with the soaring fret work.The thundering opening progression returns to form the core of the chorus. ‘The Gemini Ascendant’ is a mixed velocity track with soft wails from Lukkanen and chiming notes giving way to another colossal twin composition from the axe men. If you want atmospheric there is ‘Harbour Of Narton’ which is also the only song to include male vocals.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Waves crash and the thunder rolls as reverb rings out from the guitar. Things build by the minute as the rest of the band joins in with the storm increases in ferocity up to the gothic climax. But from the first listen one song sticks in the mind and that is ‘Unconverted’. This full power track is an absolute ripper. It has a bit of a harsh opening with vocals using a voice box in verse one but this quickly flows into the most fantastically infectious and groovy chorus. The punchy lyrics are much cleaner except for a bit of an echo and the riff roaring out of the two six strings just begs to be moshed to! This bombastic beast is one that will run riot round your head for days.

Despite its intensity and alternative slants, this is an enjoyable and interesting album. It’s beautifully crafted as well as expertly performed. But due to its experimental components it is guaranteed to polarise opinion. Some will find it a rich album full of varying compositions but others may find it too noisy and straying too far from established sounds. Whichever camp you fall into this takes plenty of spins to fully appreciate everything. It’s tough to offer a genuine comparison given they include so many influences but at a push think Midnattsol meets The Man Eating Tree. Lukkanen isn’t the strongest vocalist in the female fronted fraternity but she makes expert use of her talents with some expressive singing. Tero Kallimaki and Jarno Suodenjoki create a constant maelstrom of sound throughout and these two can seriously play. The production is highly polished adding to the classy texture of the music. Overall this is a high quality female fronted metal record but it will not be everyone’s taste. If you find joy in unusual journeys, grab this by the horns and see if this Finnish groove is to your liking.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 19 hours, 25 minutes ago
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site