Attika 7 - 'Blood Of My Enemies' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 26, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4379   0   1   0   0   0



A must have purchase for all readers of Fireworks & Rocktopia.

Attika 7 is a nu-metal supergroup of sorts featuring as it does ex-Biohazard vocalist/guitarist Evan Seinfeld and bassist Tony Campos, who was one of the founding members of Static-X as well as lead guitarist and motorcycle builder Rusty Coones - who has recently shot to fame, particularly in the States, through his involvement in the ‘Sons Of Anarchy’ TV series about the goings on of a close-knit outlaw motorcycle club. You can forget about the nu-metal tag straight away though as the material on this, their debut album, is a glorious head on collision between snarling, detuned metal riffs, rumbling bass lines, booming yet surprisingly melodic vocals and more anthemic choruses than you would care to shake a stick at, topped off with good old fashioned tuneful guitar breaks that has given birth to a simply monstrous slab of the finest groove metal tunes you are likely to hear this year (or any other year for that matter!).

There is an assured groove, swagger and dare I say it commercial accessibility running through tracks such as ‘Serial Killer’, ‘All Or Nothing’, ‘No Redemption’ and ‘Living In Oppression’ that you will find hard to resist. Although faster paced cuts like album opener ‘Crackerman’ and ‘Greed And Power’ are driven along by incessant double bass fills they are far from being all out metal workouts due the ever present groove and a keen sense of melody that is still very much at the heart of both songs. ‘Devil’s Daughter’ is taken at a slower, more menacing pace turning it into a real broiling pot boiler that positively simmers over with unrelenting attitude and a two fingered conviction. ‘Lockdown’ is one of my personal favourites, its regimented, almost industrial verse riff and anthemic, rolling chorus structure would have been the obvious choice for a single if there was a market for such a commodity these days! The title track itself is another standout that makes good use of time and mood changes. Its fast verse arrangement and slower, brooding chorus will simply slay live.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The album deals with lyrical themes drawn from their own personal experiences of social exclusion and fighting a lone battle for survival. The band has even gone so far as to call it “A soundtrack for the disenfranchised, the outcast and the misfits of society”. This is no real surprise considering Coones started laying the groundwork for ‘Blood Of My Enemies’ while he was incarcerated in a US prison cell.

Produced by the legendary Mudrock (who has worked with Avenged Sevenfold and Godsmack amongst others) this really is a first class release that effortlessly straddles both metal and hard rock genres. In many ways it’s like one of Rusty’s custom built ‘Hogs’. There’s plenty of grease n’ growl to satisfy the genuine metalheads but there’s more than enough chrome and polish on show for this to appeal to all you rockers out there as well. In other words it’s a must have purchase for all readers of Fireworks & Rocktopia! 

Alister Strachan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site