Gekko Projekt - 'Electric Forest' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 27, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3560   0   1   0   0   0



Lacks imagination and fresh ideas.

The record company describes this album as “Symphonic keyboards, progressive guitars, driving bass and adventurous drum” (and an almost fanatical dedication to the Pope probably), and states that opening track ‘Particle Dance,’ contains all the elements of classic Yes.

I have no doubt that this was what they were aiming for, but unfortunately they fell well short. I have never, in my whole time as a progressive rock fan, (and that’s some years now), heard someone trying to be somebody else, in this instance an amalgam of Steves Howe and Hackett, and failing completely, due to a lack of imagination, and, well, frankly, any fresh ideas. The problem is that guitarist Peter Matuchniak starts off with a couple of little tricks he’s ‘mastered’ on guitar, which are never surpassed through the rest of the album, and a sound that he is obviously happy with as it never changes through all ten tracks.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

What also compounds the issue is his playing is very one dimensional, probably due to the fact that the canvas he is trying to paint on is featureless, and when he gets into something he stays in it for quite some time. This ultimately turns the whole thing into ‘lift’ or ‘background’ music which tends to make you want to shut your eyes and go to sleep for at least 42 minutes. There are a couple of times on the album where you may think things are looking up, mainly in vocal track ‘Black Hole,’ ’Martian Sunrise’ and ‘State Of Siege,’ but it doesn’t live up to its potential and it is too little too late as by then I had all but lost interest.

Oh yes, and there are also little bits of jazz in there. Nuff said…

Andy B

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (3)add comment

Peter Matuchniak said:

Oh well,some love it and others don't so you can't win them all, and on the balance of things I can't complain. Thanks for listening and taking the time to review anyway. Cheers, Peter
September 28, 2012
Votes: +1

Paul Mouradjian said:

Andy B....where there is Prog....there is usually some really goo weed......sorry to see you got a Bad Batch! What in the world are YOU listening to? You know some reviews are so inaccurate, they are simply comical....thanks for the laugh dude!
October 02, 2012
Votes: +1

Peter Matuchniak said:

Easy Paul, I appreciate the support in your comment, although I think this review is a case of mistaken identity. Although comparisons are sometimes made with my influences, I don't make a point of trying to sound like anybody. Plus I'm the last person to be driven by some so-called "tricks" that the author refers to (I didn't think progressive rock was about who has the best bag of tricks anyway). Aside from leaning towards melody and complimentary riffs, I do like using textured sounds and I suspect that a number of these have been mistaken as keyboards since the claim here is that there is only one sound used.

Maybe a better sense of what I am about can be gained by a few links instead. You can then dislike it, but at least for the right reasons:
October 03, 2012
Votes: +1

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site