ΦEARTH - 'Moments' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 28, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3038   0   1   0   0   0






This is another astonishing album and an intoxicating brew.

This is the sophomore release from the eclectic British progressive outfit whose eponymously-titled debut I had the pleasure of reviewing in Fireworks #42 (click here to read the review on Rocktopia). At the time of review, it was suggested that this new album would be titled ‘Red’, but that has not come to pass. This is one of the themes I will be exploring with one of the band’s two main muses, Dave Cureton, in the magazine next time…

Unlike the debut, ?Earth have not found it necessary to stretch their musical imagination across two CDs and have kept to an admirably concise (for a “proggy” album) 62 minutes. Yet within that time, the band has unveiled an album containing a remarkable soupçon of very many different influences: not only as regards musical styles and genres but also from many different cultures and parts of the world. Theirs really is a holistic, global perspective…

Although lyrically, there is a theme running through the album, the words are generally sparse and are often used to enhance the mood and the ambience of the music. The vocals of Clare Malin throughout the album are a revelation, and her contributions are a central focus throughout much of ‘Moments’ with the exception of ‘Brothers’ which is entirely instrumental and ‘Turn Away’ where Cureton leads the way vocally.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The title track commences the album with atmospheric and howling sounds that give way to brief narrative. So much happens within the following eight minutes and these provide a good indication of what is in store throughout the rest of the album. The line “…no one’s out there…” is taken up at the commencement of ‘Live Your Life Part 1’ and which largely features Malin singing against gentle piano accompaniment. More instrumentation arrives before segueing into ‘…Part 2’ which is a forceful, energetic number during its first half but evolves into a lilting melody including an emotive guitar solo.

‘Drifting’ is another lengthy track, and has a languid personality redolent of its title and terrific vocal arrangements and I found myself thinking about some of the ambient, “chill out” music in my CD collection, and where this would not be out of place. ‘Cinta Indah’ showcases magnificent female vocals and there’s glorious Spanish guitar and Latino influences aplenty. The instrumental ‘Brothers’ takes up the previous theme and embellishes it; the saxophone and flute melodies are very special here.

‘Come Find Love’ finds Gregorian chanting juxtaposed with techno and percussive interpolations (yes, really!) while the dreamy/dramatic mixture in ‘Finest Hour’ also includes a sample from a Winston Churchill speech. The lengthy and for the most part understated closing track ‘Turn Away’ features an incredibly stunning ending however, that concludes ‘Moments’ in suitably fine style.

?Earth have boldly gone where others have – perhaps – feared to tread. This is another astonishing album and an intoxicating brew; do come taste the band….Thus far it is their finest hour (and a bit!)

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site