CD Reviews

Doro - 'Raise Your Fist' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 30, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5609   0   1   0   0   0





A class heavy metal album from a singer of true note.

Doro Pesch, the ‘Queen Of Heavy Metal’, has been a regular staple of Fireworks since the early days. In fact just last issue fellow Fireworker Julia Braun reviewed her latest compilation ‘Under Your Skin’. This included reworkings of many of her classics from a career that is approaching the thirty year mark. If that wasn’t enough to get her exceedingly dedicated fans feverish, metals leading lady returns with her twelfth studio album ‘Raise Your Fist’ just months later.

This explodes from the first bar with the title track which is an absolute beast and could become a real anthem. A colossal driving riff thunders from the start as Doro roars with real aggression. The chorus is massively catchy and will go down a bomb live. ‘Revenge’ sees the band really open up with some furious fret work, a colossal riff and an intense double drum beat. The foundation’s a rollicking gallop from the rhythm section with some Maidenesque guitar work. There is another striking chorus which is a bit punchier as the guitars continue to sizzle away. One of the ballads is blessed by another member of metal’s royalty when Lemmy joins Doro on the haunting ‘It Still Hurts’. The combination of her voice with his raspy words is striking and only increased by some seriously deep and slow guitar work. If all this wasn’t enough to wet the taste buds, there is also a guest slot for Ozzy Osbourne guitarist Gus G on ‘Grab The Bull’. Chants and a solid beat support Doro’s lyrics before the guitar fires up with a revolving riff that ends up forming the base of the chorus. The album closes out with the most poignant song, the appropriately titled ‘Hero’ is an imposing track dedicated to the late great Ronnie James Dio. After a tender intro the drums kick in with a military beat before the guitars erupt with a mammoth progression. Doro touchingly manages to work Ronnie’s name into the song as it fades out.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

It’s safe to say that the Queen Of Metal has returned with a vengeance releasing a fabulous, blistering and no nonsense heavy metal record. Doro’s voice sounds as good as ever and she continues to show amazing longevity at such a high standard. Her vocals are powerful, deep and full throated throughout the album. Musically the riffs are massive and really drive the songs forward to some exceedingly infectious choruses. Bas Maas and Luca Princiotta deliver some superb solos as well as some pounding progressions. On the technical front, the production is top class and perfectly crisp and clear only adding to the quality of this record. It’s reassuring that one of the genres longest serving artists can still deliver a stand out album.

This is a class heavy metal album from a singer of true note and it should keep all established fans happy as well as bring some new ears to her sound. The German Metal Queen has once again delivered for her loyal subjects.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site