CD Reviews

X-Y - 'Flying' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 02, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4716   0   1   0   0   0





A highly enjoyable album.

‘Flying’ is the second album from alternative rock band X-Y. Based on the French Riviera the serve up a powerful and melodic set of songs with more than enough variation in mood and styles to keep the listener interested whilst still managing to maintain a distinctive identity.

Album opener and title track ‘Flying’ sets the pace with an up tempo rocker, with the staccato opening building over a background of electronic keyboard textures before launching into a riff that will get your head nodding from the start. The expected big chorus follows with harmony and backing vocals a plenty. Next up ‘What We Like’ show the band at their varied best, a driving rock verse and chorus before slipping into a reggae middle section sung in French. A little off the wall so early in the album, but the juxtapositioning of power rock and a reggae beat somehow works and establishes the ambition of the band.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The band’s influences are clear for all to hear, Avenged Sevenfold – after all, they did release an EP of Avenged Sevenfold covers back in their early days – A touch of Nickelback here and there and the samples and alternative beats of Linkin Park. And whilst the album doesn’t match the class of those bands there’s plenty of great promise on show if the bands can build further and get the right breaks having been signed to a US label for this release.‘Letter to my Friends’ highlights the Linkin characteristics with a haunting, softly spoken verse leading into another power driven chorus. There’s a touch of Foo Fighters too, with some the more straight forward rock of ‘Superficial’, ‘From Ashes and Dust’ and ‘Locked-In Syndrome’. Main song writer, Jean-Laurant Ducroiset’s guitar work is consistently good, smoothly handling the changes in pace and tone that the album puts together. ‘9 Lives’ gives us some Funk leanings towards the Chilli Peppers, but despite covering pretty much the extremes of Alternative rock boundaries X-Y do still manage to hold a distinctive sound together

The album was first released in 2011 and with a new single and video ‘Welcome To My Place’ out now and available through i-tunes, the band are pushing to establish themselves further outside their native France. Yet to make it over to England, the band is regularly gigging through France and several excursions into mainland Europe.

This is a highly enjoyable album, with a strong label behind them if they can get a few decent support slots for exposure, with the right time and right place, who knows where album number three could take them.

Ian Parry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site