CD Reviews

Steve Harris - 'British Lion' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 02, 2012    
0.0 (0)
2161   0   1   0   0   0





A very solid offering of retro flavoured rock that has 'Britain' written right through it.

Eternal Iron Maiden bassist and songwriter Steve Harris is joined by vocalist Richard Taylor, guitarists Graham Leslie and David Hawkins, plus drummer Simon Dawson for his first official side project. With ‘British Lion’ Harris has put his retro shades on and decided we all need to get back to our, or his, roots.

Vocalist Richard Taylor has been receiving a plethora of plaudits for his vocals, with his soulful style of singing ensuring that ‘British Lion’ has an entirely different flavour than any Maiden stuff. I have to say that I think Harris made a good choice. The style is comparable to Black Country Communion (although Taylor is no Glenn Hughes), and if you like the Midlands marauders then this should be right up your street.

There are some unavoidable Maiden sensibilities in a couple of songs, with ‘Us Against The World‘ delivering an opening guitar salvo that would fit in with any Maiden album, and although this disappears, the bassline throughout is pure Harris. ‘The Chosen Ones’ has a great melody to it, oddly reminding me of an early, lost track by fellow NWOBHM-ers Def Leppard, before they went all sparkly, with a hefty slice of UFO at their most radio friendly. If this was 1981 it would be a great single, and has in the middle a perfectly balanced guitar solo. The same can be applied to the light and catchy ‘Eyes Of The Young‘, which bounces along at a great pace, a reminiscence of younger days when we all thought we were invincible.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The more I listen to this, the more I like it, and I have a suspicion that it will be the track I come back to in years to come when I’m compiling playlists. ‘A World Without Heaven’ is the longest track at over seven minutes, and it’s a credit to the band that it doesn’t outstay its welcome at all, featuring some very soulful vocals from Taylor and a great guitar break. The album ends with a bit of a whimper with ‘The Lesson’, a sombre, reflective track that is pretty good in itself but a bit of a come down after all that has gone before. In between, there’s not a bad track to be had, and I’m enjoying this more than any Maiden album since ‘Dance Of Death’, because it just seems so upbeat and free flowing, with Harris a British lion let out of his cage for a while.

‘British Lion’ is a very solid offering of retro flavoured rock that has ‘Britain’ written right through it. It’s going to get publicity because of the Harris involvement, but to be honest I’d like this regardless of who was involved. Word is that they band are going to tour some smaller venues to promote the album, and I for one will be first in line, because this is a cracker, and I ain’t lion about that (sorry…!)

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 14 hours, 34 minutes ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us