Hotel Diablo - 'The Return To Psycho California' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 27, 2012    
0.0 (0)
7372   0   1   0   0   0

First album by a prototype supergroup.

This band is dripping with Hollywood flavour all over. A prototype supergroup with members of Quiet Riot,W.A.S.P. and a certain ex Adler’s Appetite vocalist to boot, they have the sleazy Rock attitude of G’n’R, the cool swagger of Mick Jagger and the dirty grooves of 70s Aerosmith. Their clothes shout Forgotten Saints and their pose shouts babe magnet. Guys want to be them and the girls just want them!

Produced by the indefatigable Gilby Clarke and assisted by Matt Starr (Ace Frehley/Beautiful Creatures) it has all the hallmarks of a Californian Rock band that eat Rock‘n’Roll in the morning, drink Rock’n’Roll in the afternoon and sweat Rock’n’Roll in the evening. Put together last year by Quiet Riot guitarist Alex Grossi (who’s also recorded with Bang Tango and Adler’s Appetite as well as being involved to various degrees with Love/Hate, Jani Lane, and Skid Row) and ex Adler vocalist Rich Stitch, they came straight off of an Adler world tour and did a one-off gig with W.A.S.P.’s rhythm section of bassist Mike Duda and drummer Mike Dupke in a club in Hollywood which sowed the seeds for this, their debut album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Now whether all their other commitments meant they didn’t spend much time together or what I don’t know but they’ve only come up with half an hour’s worth of new material. There are two alternate acoustic based versions of two of their eight songs and a cover of Oasis’ ‘Wonderwall’ (Yes, you read that correctly!) featured on this disc. Why on earth American Hollywood Sleaze dudes would want to cover a two pints and a packet of crisps Northern scallywags song is beyond me! They must’ve had a bad ‘trip’ in Manchester whilst touring with Adler and decided it would be a hoot!

That aside, vocalist Rich Stitch comes across as a mix of Leatherwolf’s Michael Olivieri and Cinderella’s Tom Keifer with a raspy, slightly growly vibrato that compliments Rossi’s dirty, sleazy almost Slash in places guitar that on opening track ‘Taken’ sets the scene for pretty much the whole album. A mid-paced Rocker with rolling riffs that leads into a slower, predictable second track ‘Set It Off’. The first song released from the album was ‘Bury You’ back in June and as a slower Rocker it’s saved by having a good chorus with plenty of keyboard embellishment. Elsewhere you get the Foo Fighters style effective title track ‘Psycho California’ with its driving riffs and steady drum beat and the almost Warrant ‘Uncle Tom’s Cabin’ feel of ‘Wicked Lines’ where Rossi treats us to a Gibson wah wah pedal solo. ‘All These Years’ is a really good mature sounding ballad with a dirty guitar mid-break section and you feel that if the band want to keep this project going they’ll have to spend more time together and write more songs. However, I really like the fact that Duda’s bass can be heard in the mix so credit to Mr Clarke.

Not a bad start but more songs next time please guys!

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site