Frequency Drift - '... Laid To Rest' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 03, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5417   0   1   0   0   0

New album by the female fronted band.

As I worked my way through the promo CDs I was sent for this issue of Fireworks there seemed to be a recurring theme developing in that several of the albums could be open to criticism because the sound doesn’t vary enough. I’m afraid that Frequency Drift fall into that category, although I must point out that musically they are extremely talented and in Antje Auer they have a female vocalist of the very highest order, it’s just that they have a sound and they stick to it.

I made the same comment elsewhere that if my I-pod was on shuffle mode and any one of the six tracks from this album were to appear I’d let it play, but listening to the entire album just gets rather tedious, one ends up begging for an injection of pace, a guitar riff and some energy. In addition, most of the tracks are just too long to maintain interest when they don’t have the tempo or theme changes to sustain them. The shortest is just under 8 minutes, the longest at over fifteen with most clocking in at well over the ten minute mark. For my taste there simply isn’t enough colour to their sound; it seems to sit in the fifty shades of grey category, with the album title and some of the songs giving a clue to the type of feel one can expect, ‘Dead’, ‘Cold’ and ‘Ice’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Again, I will stress that on an individual level most of the songs have considerable merit; they demonstrate great craft, are beautifully performed and in places the arrangements show a touch of class even if they can’t carry songs of such length. ‘Dead’ opens proceedings with a menacing violin and bass motif before the glorious vocals of Auer kick in. The likes of Within Temptation, Mostly Autumn (MA) and Leaves’ Eyes all came to mind albeit at a less dynamic level. A violin solo is followed by an understated but delightful guitar solo and just before I felt the track was overstaying its welcome there was a shift to a Middle Eastern feel I associate with Steve Hackett’s recent works. ‘Parted’ is the shortest song and is all the better for it. Yet more delicious vocals, strong melodies, a simple but effective chorus and lots of lovely little accentuations from the various instruments all topped off by some fine Ian Crichton (Saga) guitar work. ‘Cold’ reminds in part of a less bombastic Loreweaver, with its wonderful vocal arrangement. ‘Wish’ is overly long, a perception heightened by the clunky switch of sounds towards the end which feels like an afterthought and detracts from a hitherto decent song. ‘Ice’ breaks the mould slightly with a hint of a riff, a Bluesy intro and strong chorus while closer ‘Copper’ has a strange, exaggerated vibrato vocal performance. The MA style guitar solo is good but the Kate Bush (native tongue?) singing leaves me cold.

Gary Marshal

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site