Riversea - 'Out Of An Ancient World' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 25, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4195   0   1   0   0   0




A rather good debut album.

It’s refreshing when one discovers a new name scene and their debut album then turns out to be rather good; Riversea fit that category very nicely indeed. This album has been in gestation for over five years, although to be fair the members aren’t full-time musicians and ‘real life’ got in the way. Riversea was originally conceived as a song-writing project with the protagonists working separately and combining their input by swapping files but you’d never guess, because the album sounds cohesive, fresh and far from being sterile like some project albums.

The trio of Brendan Eyre (keyboards), Marc Atkinson (vocals) and Paul Cusick on guitars began the journey with the latter dropping out along the way to concentrate on making his solo albums under the Q moniker. They have managed to obtain the services of some notable and significant guest players such as various members of Mostly Autumn; they even got the renowned Ed Unitsky to do the art work.

Musically the band come across as an extremely pleasing amalgam of Pink Floyd, Mostly Autumn, Jadis, Steve Thorne, Believe and Hogarth era Marillion, without any of those influences overwhelming the band’s own character.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Taking the track ‘Freeze the Frame’ as an example it opens with a Mostly Autumn vibe, the keyboard solo has overtones of ‘Wish You Were Here’ Pink Floyd and the guitar solo is pure David Gilmour; it’s a truly wonderful song; but so is every one of the twelve on offer so picking specific highlights isn’t easy as I could go through every song, in depth. Prophetically the album opens with ‘In the Beginning’ which uses a latter day Pink Floyd feel initially before the vocals kick in and remind me of Thorne. ‘The Song’ has a delightful melody, a beautiful vocal arrangement and lovely guitar solo. ‘Is That What God Wants?’ starts out languidly with piano and vocals before bursting into a wonderful chorus that has the guitars ramped up nicely. I defy the listener not have the chorus going round inside their head after just one play. ‘The Fallen’ has the Jadis feel while ‘Still Home’ has a fine beat and another memorable refrain. ‘Falling Stars’ has a sparse feel with a programmed rhythm, a wash of keyboards and multi vocal arrangement. That is until a brilliantly executed change into a heavy instrumental finish. The guitar solo from Adrian Jones is a delight.

‘Wiser’ is a favourite track of mine, the refrains and melodies are rather special, but so is the guitar work from Ashley Mulford (Sad Café/Mandalaband), it recalls Marillion before they went ambient. The title track rounds out proceedings in fine style. A plaintive piano and vocal piece is gradually joined by other instruments in a splendid arrangement. The keyboard work that builds during the song is terrific as is the guitar from Liam Davison (Mostly Autumn) and Mark Rowen.

Let’s hope Riversea don’t keep us waiting five years for the next instalment.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site