Viva La Venus - 'Bleeding On The Edge Of Happiness' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 26, 2012    
0.0 (0)
2132   0   1   0   0   0

Despite showing some potential this is an ordinary album.

Viva La Venus is a female fronted rock band from North Carolina formed in the late nineties. Their first album came out in 2001 entitled ‘The Never Ending Mending Story’ and landed the band a record deal. The follow up ‘Forget The Fairy Tale’ in 2005 bought them attention on a national scale. ‘Bleeding On The Edge Of Happiness’ is their third release.

The opener ‘Little Voice’ has a traditional Americana feel with bouncing bass and picked notes until mid verse the full electric bursts forth with a grinding progression. Venus adds to this American feel with the aptly named ‘Burn’. Acoustic and soaring guitar gives the feel of a desert road and the heat rising as the sun bears down. Another power chord composition fills the chorus before reverting back to the scorched melody. The western nod is pushed further with the country styled ‘Hole’. Delicate vocals over acoustic guitar and a plodding rhythm wouldn’t feel out of place on any country record. As the chorus approaches the pace picks up a couple of steps before the power six string enters the fray. The band also has some more aggressive songs scattered about like ‘Grave’. This is the only song featuring any male vocals and has a real crunch to the guitar with the majority of the song feeling a little grunge like. ‘Hesitate’ takes a wailing six string approach over a deep chugging riff; this soaring melody feels very Thin Lizzy but with some fatter rhythm underneath. The heaviest song is ‘Leave’ where the lead bounces all over the top of this chunky riff making this the most guitar fuelled examples of Venus and proves the girls can rock when they choose to.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Despite showing some potential this is an ordinary album. In terms of sound you could say this has the flavour of Heart with a little Jovi and Lizzy chucked in. With no listing it’s not easy to tell which vocalist is singing. They all have a classic soft rock sound but none of them are as strong vocally as many of the current European singers. If you have a penchant for powerful vocals this won’t have the kick you’re used to. The guitar work is probably the high point of the album with all the players showing some ability when given the chance; again it’s not possible to pick one person out not knowing who was playing when. If the album is average musically, sadly the production can only be described as rather poor. It has the sound of a demo or something home recorded which comes as quite a surprise given this is the group’s third album. A better technical approach might have helped bring out the vocals and music more giving this a better listening experience. Whilst this might show some promise occasionally, the advice for the majority of readers is to check this out online first and see if it does more for you than it did for me.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us