Asia - 'Resonance - Live In Basel, Switzerland' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 27, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3221   0   1   0   0   0

A weighty 2CD/DVD tome which captures the band in full glorious flow on their world tour back in 2010.

The first genuine ‘supergroup’ of the 1980s, Asia brought together some of the biggest and most influential names from the 70s and cast them adrift together in a wonderfully addictive maelstrom of sound, bursting at the seams with unforgettable hooks and erudite melodies.

The classic line-up of Asia – John Wetton, Steve Howe, Geoff Downes and Carl Palmer – lasted a mere two studio albums before fragmenting, but a constantly evolving roster of new (and old) members coming and going has kept the band name alive for more than three decades. Thing is, good as all these subsequent incarnations of the band were in their own right (I was particularly fond of the John Payne/Guthrie Govan era), in terms of the commercial reality of putting bums on seats, none could hold a candle to that original band.

Predictably, behind the scenes circumstances conspired to bring the four original Asia members back together again, and in 2006 Geoff Downes dissolved his partnership with John Payne and jumped ship for a full blown ‘classic’ Asia reunion. Lawsuits and recriminations have been slung to-and-fro ever since, but none of that should overly concern us here. So, having already released the fantastic new studio album ‘XXX’ earlier this year, Asia now round out a very successful 2012 with ‘Resonance – Live In Basel, Switzerland’, a weighty 2CD/DVD tome which captures the band in full glorious flow on their ‘Omega’ world tour back in 2010.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Seamlessly grafting together a selection of songs from both ‘Omega’ and its immediate predecessor ‘Phoenix’ with many of those timeless Asia classics we’ve all come to love and respect, it captures the essence and magic of the band as they deftly deliver a set that has the audience eating out of their hands from the opening intro of ‘I Believe’. Hard to pick highlights from a set rammed full of some of the greatest rock tracks of the last three decades, but I was particularly drawn to the vocal/piano interpretation of ‘Don’t Cry’, the evergreen ‘Sole Survivor’ (a track I never tire of no matter how many times I hear it) and of course the rousing encore ‘Heat Of The Moment’.

Authentically capturing the performance as it happened on the night (it was apparently shot in HD with no less than 18 cameras), this is a thoroughly fascinating and absorbing live set that fans of the band will find themselves returning to again and again!

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us