Spheric Universe Experience - 'The New Eve' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/69/e0/19/3119_SphericUniverseExperienceTheNewEve_1356569772.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 27, 2012    
0.0 (0)
2294   0   1   0   0   0

A very disappointing effort.

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. What have the prog metal outfit called Spheric Universe Experience (SUE) gone and done? Well in my humble opinion they have decided that the clever and powerful prog that was their forte on earlier albums ‘Anima’ and ‘Unreal’, wasn’t good enough for them; and so they then decided to change their entire sound, style and attitude and instead of some of the classy prog metal we liked, we have in its place a heavy (heavy) riffing nu/power metal band, that play the kind of music that so many other acts do. Now why they have decided to go in this direction is anyone’s guess but I for one have never liked bandwagon jumping and I really don’t think that SUE have pulled off this change of direction. This type of album has been done to death and just having riff upon heavy riff, OK to average vocals and run of the mill songs, only helps this CD to end up sounding like a mess. The whole thing for me smacks of a band that decided to sit down and discuss their future, watched some modern Nu rock and metal videos and thought to themselves that this was the way to go. Unfortunately for me this just hasn’t worked for SUE - at all.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Now to the songs themselves which pose another problem. Firstly I will admit that the musicianship is still superb but that’s not enough for the discerning music fan these days. Secondly nu metal songs are usually about three minutes of intensity and anger and then they are gone. SUE have decided that instead of sticking with this tried and tested formula, that adding in overlong solos and tons of unnecessary riffs was the way to go on ‘The New Eve’. So when you listen to tracks like ‘Escape’ which pounds and pounds at you until you raise your hands to surrender, or the unrelenting riffage of ‘Never Heal’ and title track ‘A New Eve’ it all becomes just a mish mash of the same song played over and over and over again. It is only when the band shorten the songs and add some much needed melody to proceedings that SUE show a glimmer of the potential that this new direction they are following might offer. So ‘The Day I Died’ and ‘Self Abuse’ are easier on the ear than what has come before but are still not enough to make up for what this band have made you listen to before.

I really hate being negative about any bands or their albums but again I say - why oh, why, oh why have SUE moved so far away from the sound that I and so many loved them for previously? It just doesn’t make sense to me. So sorry SUE but this comes across as a very disappointing effort.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us