Dare - 'Calm Before The Storm 2' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 31, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5769   0   1   0   0   0




A collection of songs I've fallen in love with all over again.

Completely re-recording a classic album is always a risky move, but is becoming more prevalent these days. Originally released back in 1999 on MTM Music, ‘Calm Before The Storm’ was the first Dare album since the heavier ‘Blood From Stone’ seven years before, and also the first to feature the more Celtic-orientated lighter approach which has become the Dare trademark. Main-man Darren Wharton acquired the masters to the original album and decided that a new version would be more beneficial than a re-release, and I don’t want to go too much into the reasons for the re-recording here - see my interview with Darren elsewhere in this issue for the full explanation. However, I can totally understand that many fans (me amongst them) would prefer to get a brand new album rather than new versions of old songs, especially as Dare records tend to come round as often as the Olympic Games these days, but the main benefit for Wharton with this version is that he will now reap the financial benefits for his songs, which is something I can fully appreciate.

Inevitably, the production is a major improvement, but then it HAD to be, otherwise the re-recording would have been a lost cause. It’s now much clearer and sharper, giving a completely fresh approach to the majesty of the classics like ‘Walk On The Water’, ‘Someday’, ‘Silence Of Your Head’ and the epic title-track. Another plus-point is the wonderful contribution of guitarist Richard Dews. Although he co-wrote many of the songs, he only played acoustic guitar first time around, but now has the opportunity to perform his parts the way they were originally intended, and the fresher production has given the guitar a much more vibrant sound. Darren’s son Paris also chips in with several solo parts.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Song-wise, the new versions don’t stray too far from the originals. Many are now a little shorter in length, but without any detrimental effect, and are lighter on the keyboards as the guitar is now much more prominent. Also some of the vocal lines differ slightly, and there are more background vocals than before. The running order has been re-jigged slightly, and this time around there is no room for Darren’s version of the Thin Lizzy classic ‘Still In Love With You.’ But there are two new additions, the moody ‘Cold Wind Will Blow’ originally only appeared on the European Limited Edition of the album, while the gloriously uplifting melodic rocker ‘Precious’ is an old B-side from the ‘Out Of The Silence’ days, and is a worthy addition to this release.

Although I’ve always loved the songs on ‘Calm Before The Storm’, I never gave it anywhere as much airplay as the subsequent releases ‘Belief’ and ‘Arc Of The Dawn’ simply because of the below-par production. Now this new version matches the sonic quality of the more recent Dare output, it’s a collection of songs I’ve fallen in love with all over again.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 7 hours ago
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site