CD Reviews

Lover Under Cover - 'Set The Night On Fire' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 13, 2013    
0.0 (0)
5182   0   1   0   0   0

Great songs, sublime production, tight musicianship and vibrant energy.

This album is really the tale of two very old friends Mikael Carlsson and Mikael Erlandsson (Last Autumn’s Dream, Salute), who once played together in a band called Rain some 30 odd years or so ago. After Rain broke up, the two men went their separate ways but the two Mikaels remained in contact and promised each other that when the time was right, they would make another album together. 2012 seems to be that right time and Escape music have the honour of releasing another fine slice of Swedish melodic hard rock.

Joining the Mikaels are guitarist and producer extraordinaire Martin Kronlund and drummer Perra Johansson (Coldspell), plus you have the added bonus of guest musicians of the calibre of Ged Rylands (ex-Ten) on keyboards and Tor Erik Myhre (Jorn) on guitars to help Mikael C and Mikael E record an album full of strong melodies, powerful rhythms and catchy songs, which is all you could ask for really.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

I’m gonna select a few of the standout moments from this CD starting with the full of attitude, punky as hell ‘Hero’ which features guest vocalist Katarina Hagar (see interview with band) who plays a stroppy teenage daughter with dreams of movie stardom, who instead falls from grace and into drugs and sexual depravity. The song relates both sides of her story, from her and her Father’s viewpoints, It is really strong stuff, yet done in such a powerful way by LUC. Title track ‘Set The Night On Fire’ is next and it’s a different take on the usual love song formula. It’s a slow moving, darkly brooding track with a heavy riff and after listening to it you would be hard pressed to recognize this as your average love ballad but LUC pull the song off with aplomb. Then we have ‘Who Needs Love?’ which is another fuel filled fireball of a song, where the guitars race along like out of control Ferraris, the vocals of Mr Erlandsson soar and the solos of Martin Kronlund and Tor Erik Myhre vie for supremacy, until the cut reaches its blistering crescendo. Lastly I must mention ‘Through The Storm’ which brought to my mind the likes of Vandenberg, TNT and Lizzy. The chorus is instant and the band are at the top of their game, as the song pours like warm honey from your speakers.

With ‘Set The Night On Fire’, Lover Under Cover might be another in a long line of Swedish melodic rock bands; but with their great songs, sublime production courtesy of Martin Kronlund, tight musicianship and vibrant energy, I think they have that little something extra that could see them go from strength to strength. Oh and I really hope that it doesn’t take another 30 years until we get album number two.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site