CD Reviews

Ensiferum - 'Unsung Heroes' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 30, 2013    
0.0 (0)
5510   0   1   0   0   0




Album number five from the Finnish battle/folk/melodic metallers.

Album number five from the Finnish battle/folk/melodic metallers and the first one since ‘From Afar’ released in 2009. Not having previously had an Ensiferum album within earshot, let alone sat in front of me for review, I went in search of help to put it into context. It would appear that unlike the present album which incorporates lots of folk textures complete with acoustic instrumentation, Medieval elements, symphonic soundscapes, drama and haunting melodies (and quite a lot of guttural male vocals too, I need to warm any “pink and fluffy” readers) the previous offering was a rather less diverse affair and likely less appealing to Fireworks readers but who will undoubtedly enjoy (the mixture of vocal styles here, notwithstanding) the tremendously memorable and catchy harmonies served up on ‘Unsung Heroes’.

After the majestic instrumental prelude ‘Symbols’ (the inclusion of such seems to divide opinion), mid-paced rocker ‘In My Sword I Trust’ is a somewhat mundane metal track – until the choirs kick in! It is also elevated by the arrival of clean male lead vocals, which then interplay with the growly ones. However, it is the following six minute title track that truly nails the colours of this album to the mast. It’s a monster of a track (if you can tolerate “those” vocals) with a tune that will burrow into your consciousness. And the choirs, the choirs…magnificent!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Following this there is plenty of unexpected variety to unfold, including ‘Celestial Bond’ that could have been lifted from Blackmore’s Night repertoire…but I really must mention album closer ‘Passion Proof Power’. This 17-minute juggernaut is exactly what the term “epic” was designed for! It’s one of the most magnificent “kitchen sink” musical dramas I have heard in a long, long while. Initially sounding like something set in a remote corner of Australia (I kid you not!!) it passes through many different episodes each one with its distinctive mood and atmosphere. At one stage I had to pinch myself to check I was not listening to a Therion album when soprano vocals suddenly appear.

Now when deciding upon a purchase (as you do), note that there is a Limited Edition of ‘Unsung Heroes’ that also includes a DVD. This has a documentary about creating the album. My promo copy did not include this, and does seem like another of those that you would only watch once (if that!)

For my current taste (no longer just inclined towards the “pink and fluffy”) this is a magnificent way of spending an hour, and I hope that some of you will be enticed. If you are, you will surely not be disappointed!

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 16 hours ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site