HIM - 'XX - Two Decades Of Love Metal' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 04, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4978   0   1   0   0   0




A two decade retrospective featuring  twenty songs.

HIM have always been a strange brew and hard to pigeonhole and that suits half Finnish half Hungarian Ville Valo down to the ground: an individual who has been treated for alcohol addiction as well as dealing with troubled relationships and alleged self harming episodes. Quoted as saying that life as a musician is a very Dali-esque experience he’s a white boy dancing badly on the razors edge. Choked on the surrealism of real life it’s a very ‘Alice In Wonderland’ experience for him. 

What is remarkable is the core of the band; Guitarist Mikko Lindstrom and bassist Mikko Paananen have been with Ville since its inception in 1991 save for a brief hiatus for Paanenen, with drummer Mika Karppinen and keyboardist Janne Puurtinen having been with the band for more than eleven years! This certainly says something about the harmony within the group. Described by Ville as ‘Love Metal’ that’s as good a description as any as lying somewhere between Sabbath and Depeche Mode (they’ve covered songs by both bands) with pop sensibilities meshing with Scandinavian melancholia. (Check out ‘The Kiss Of Dawn’ for the schizophrenic nature of Valo’s compositions)

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This two decade retrospective features, natch, twenty songs and to go with the schizophrenic theme they’re not in chronological order plus some rather obvious tracks haven’t been included either. Of the seven singles not included are the popular ‘Solitary Man’ (a Neil Diamond cover) and ‘And Love Said No’ (one of their more well known songs here in the UK) although they were the two new tracks at the time of their release on the Greatest Hits package The one new song on the album (a Kevin Grivois cover) and latest single in the process, is lead-off track ‘Strange World’, a more mainstream and accessible rocker that powers along on a hard driving riff and solid kick-back drumming with Valo’s familiar breathy baritone and whiney nuances adding a catchiness to the chorus. The first three retrospective tracks are the gorgeous ‘Join Me In Death’ with its delicate piano refrain from second album 2000’s ‘Razorblade Romance’ followed by the rocking ‘Heartkiller’ from 2010’s seventh release ‘Screamworks’ (a top 30 US charting single) before we get the classic ‘Wings Of A Butterfly’ from 2005’s fifth release ‘Dark Light’ – a memorable catchy-as-hell Cult-esque rocker that drives along on a melodic guitar refrain and a US top 20 single to boot. I’m not sure whose decision it was (for the running order) but it keeps things interesting never-the-less. The classic and live favourite plus Finnish #1 ‘Funeral Of Hearts’ with its melancholic warblings nestles at number six on the track listing and the cover of Chris Isaak’s ‘Wicked Game’ can be found at number thirteen.

If you’re already a fan of HIM then you’ve already got these songs so it’ll be one for completists, but if you’re unfamiliar or just curious but never got round to checking them out then this is a good place to start.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site