Axel Rudi Pell - 'One Night Live' Hot

Added by James Gaden     May 05, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6952   0   1   0   0   0




Raw unaltered live recording of Axel in concert.

This latest live DVD release from ARP strikes me as being something of a hors d’oeuvre ahead of the main course - the band’s new album ‘The Crest’ available at the end of April. It is a “no frills” package – just the complete 75 minute performance captured at the ‘Rock Of Ages’ festival in Rottenburg/Seebronn, Germany on 31 July 2009, and containing (as stated on the package) “an absolutely true and authentic live recording as it happened on that day with all mistakes and “blue” notes. No overdubs guaranteed!”

The set for the show covers material from 1992’s ‘Eternal Prisoner’ album right through to 2008’s ‘Tales Of The Crown’, with the title tracks from both being included. Only the previous studio album, ‘Mystica’ has two tracks featured here – the title and ‘Rock The Nation’. Also included are ‘Tear Down The Walls’, ‘Strong As A Rock’, ‘Masquerade Ball’ and ‘Casbah’ in a medley with the aforementioned ‘Tales…’, ‘Temple Of The King’ and a concluding medley of ‘Fool, Fool’ and ‘Eternal Prisoner’. There’s also what seems to be the obligatory drum solo from Mike Terrana – although this does not overstay its welcome!

Now, I happen to be a fan of the music of ARP, and have virtually everything ever released by the wizard from Bochum and his cohorts, so I am a quite happy bunny to have a copy of this DVD. It is an enjoyable show to watch, and despite the present members of the band having been together for well over 10 years, there is no suggestion of them looking stale or lacking in conviction. It is a “solid” (rather than a “blistering”) performance (I didn’t detect any “blue” notes but perhaps my ears are insufficiently finely-tuned to do that!) and as usual vocalist Johnny Gioeli proves to be a charismatic and animated front man, keeping the show together and turning in a performance worthy of one of the greatest voices of rock. Pell, himself, on the other hand, stands stage right exuding very little personality – preferring to let the stringed instrument at the mercy of his fingers provide the emotion and the focus of the music. Messrs Ferdy Doernberg and Volker Krawczak on keys and bass respectively busy themselves as they always do (and now have within the context of ARP for very many years between them) whilst Mike Terrana is an unorthodox drummer that I never tire of watching, irrespective of which band he is with at the time.

From a technical perspective the sound quality is first rate: clear and precise, and the camera work and DVD editing are both very good, but not always flawless. So, it is what it is, and in the final analysis I do not think this release will be likely to tempt anybody who is not a die-hard fan, but for those of us who are, it will do very nicely, thank you!

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 hours, 45 minutes ago
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site