Fools For Rowan - 'Twisted. Tied Up. Tangled.' / 'Who Killed Amanda Day?' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 11, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4869   0   2   0   0   0

What a wonderful discovery!

I may be “the old guy” on the Fireworks team, but I like to think I retain a keen ear for great new music with appeal to the readership of the magazine. Mind you, I am not as “out there” as many of the other writers, so it comes as a shock that nobody else (apart from Dave Scott: see his interview elsewhere this issue) seems to have picked up on the absolutely marvellous Fools For Rowan (FFR) before me, and started shouting about how good they are!

Although based in Nashville, the members of the band (Erin Mullins (vox), Rachel Brandsness (lead guitar), Ryan Nanney (rhythm guitar), Andrew ‘Gibby’ Williams (bass) and Jordan Cullen (drums)) come from diverse locations and thus you can forget immediately about all those typical motifs associated with their new home as FFR are very firmly focused within the same sub-genre as Paramore, Evanescence and Halestorm, and from where I am listening, if these initial releases are a reliable indication, they have the potential to eclipse all these bands if they get the right breaks.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

‘Twisted…’ has been out for a couple of years now, and if I’ve done my research correctly was recorded very much as an Erin Mullins solo album immediately following which the band coalesced around her. Certainly none of the rest of the band on the 2012 ‘Who Killed…’ EP (also covered here for completeness) are listed on the album, and whereas this includes some string arrangements, the more recent offering is very much a full-on band affair. Both records, irrespective of the approach, are really quite superb and Mullins’ voice exudes a warmth, dexterity and power that is really remarkable and at times exudes just the tiniest hint of Stevie Nicks. She has also co-written all of the songs across the two releases: and every single one is out of the top drawer. The quality performances, brilliant production (five of the tracks on the EP having been mixed and mastered by a certain Mr Beau Hill) and fantastic overall sound has really brought out the best from these whether they comprise high octane, up-tempo numbers (‘Burnt Around The Edges’, ‘Tangled’, ‘Living Dangerously’ and ‘Refuge’), rock ballads (‘Dead’, ‘No’ (and this one is especially gorgeous!), ‘Isn’t It Enough’, ‘Crave’ and ‘Leave’(also absolutely wonderful!)) or mid-tempo or more varied stylistically (don’t be put off by the dubstep effects on ‘Chameleon’!)

I tell you, this really is intoxicating stuff, and while it may not appeal to those of you who are not (yet) tuned into modern melodic rock stylings, for the rest of you who have already embraced some/all of the other bands mentioned above, you WILL find these two releases amongst the best purchases you will make this year. Go check the band out on You Tube and then go to to make your purchase!
What a wonderful discovery!

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site