Focus - 'Focus X' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 26, 2013    
0.0 (0)
3487   0   1   0   0   0






A definite return to form.

The zenith of this Dutch band’s popularity was in the early 1970s, with their first four albums (‘In And Out Of Focus’, ‘Moving Waves’, ‘Focus III’ and ‘Hamburger Concerto’). All sold in vast numbers. Always rather quirky, and with a tendency to include a veritable potpourri of stylistic approaches, their finest hour came either with (it depends upon whom you ask) ‘Hocus Pocus’ which included wild falsetto yodelling over a determined progressive rock jam or ‘Sylvia’ a much more refined and delicately structured instrumental. Indeed, Focus has always been more about instrumental music than “songs”.

However the band’s fortunes began to wane after the fourth album and personnel changes that had dogged the band almost from its inception suggested that Focus had become very un-focused! Their nadir came in 1978 with their seventh album ‘Focus Con Proby’ so called, because for whatever reason the infamous trouser-splitting 60s vocalist P J Proby had joined them. The album bombed (not even Steve Smith, later of Journey could rescue this dismal release, one I am sure he would rather forget!)

Throughout this period, multi-instrumentalist Thijs van Leer (TvL) was the one constant member of Focus, but he called time on his by then rather directionless ensemble. Over 20 years elapsed before the band was firmly re-established (following several short-lived reincarnations), ‘Focus 8’ being released in 2002, ‘Focus 9 (New Skin)’ not appearing until four years later and now the present release another six years down the line. Before hearing a note, I was wondering whether this might be a desperate attempt at recapturing past glories, but I was, perhaps, rather ignoring the band’s more stable personnel in this new millennium.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

‘X’ is once again a mainly instrumental album, with TvL providing vocals where used, except on ‘Birds Fly Over (Le Tango)’ where Ivan Lins guests. Overall, this is an album bristling with virtuoso performances. Van Leer’s flute and Hammond organ permeate many tracks like a rash, while Menno Gootjes’ guitars provide flashes of brilliance, tonal variation, short solos and amazing riffs just as required. The rhythm guys (bassist Bobby Jacobs and drummer Pierre van der Linden) lay down a masterful sheen for their colleagues to embellish. Nowhere is this more pulsating than in album closer ‘Crossroads’, where they also get to play the album out with a short drum solo and bass/drum segment which ends in a fade…Dammit! Album opener ‘Father Baccus’ – a brilliant, driving, rock track – also fades unnecessarily. In between, there is all manner of delightful treats, umpteen with very listenable jazz/rock fusion credentials such as the romantic title track and ‘Amok In Kindergarten’, while other highlights include the idiosyncratic numbers ‘All Hens On Deck’ and ‘Talk Of The Clown’ and ‘Victoria’ with its unexpected progression.

The current formation of Focus comes across as a highly accomplished and cohesive unit and they have produced an album that is on the whole a definite return to form, is refreshing to hear, and is fully deserving of its Roger Dean cover painting.

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site