CD Reviews

Francis Rossi - 'One Step At A Time' Hot

Added by James Gaden     May 08, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6605   0   1   0   0   0



New solo album from the Status Quo frontman.

Everybody knows who Francis Rossi is, and I'm pretty sure every rock fan likes Status Quo to some degree. They may not be fashionable, but they know how to write a good boogie rock song, they're an institution and one of their gigs is always a great night out. They've been fronted by Francis on guitar and vocals for the best part of forty years, but now he's decided to unleash a solo album. His reasons for doing so are explored in my interview with him in this issue, but let's deal with the music itself here.
Francis did release a solo album back in the '90's called 'King Of The Doghouse' but the bulk of that was penned by outside writers with Francis only contributing to a smattering of tracks. This is a much more honest representation of a solo album, with all the tracks here bearing the Rossi name, most written with long time collaborator Bob Young, and a couple written with Guy Johnson.
The album will divide Quo fans, I have no doubt about that. Those who are all about tracks like 'Forty Five Hundred Times' and haven't liked anything the Quo have knocked out since Alan Lancaster and John Coghlan were in the band will find nothing on here of interest. Those who had no problem with Quo's transition to mainstream with things like 'Burning Bridges', 'In The Army Now' and 'Marguerita Time', a song Francis was pushing to do, will probably quite enjoy it. I count myself as someone who likes most Quo stuff and I'm a bit more open minded - I love the Quo classics, I love the recent Quo output, and I really enjoyed 'Thirsty Work'. That album divided a lot of fans, some loving it, some thinking it was too pop infused and not rocky enough, and that's where 'One Step At A Time' fits. 'Thirsty Work' was very much a Francis record with Rick Parfitt not contributing to the writing credits at all, and 'One Step At A Time' sounds to me like it could be a sister album to 'Thirsty Work'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Sleeping On The Job' which opens the album backs my case - it's upbeat and very Quo-eqsue, but Francis has used female backing singers on the very catchy chorus, which as you'll see in the interview, he acknowledges as something not popular when tried with Quo. 'Tallulah's Waiting' and Crazy For You' have Rossi hallmarks all over them, both of them catchy, light, pleasant, well crafted songs. 'Faded Memory' is another more relaxed tune with a great chorus that finds you humming it subconciously. It's not all relaxed though - 'Strike Like Lightning' is a more straight ahead riff based rocker, and we even have some Quo thrown in - a "cheeky" (as Francis called it) re-working of 'Caroline', played in the style it was originally written.
Francis will be touring to promote the album, playing six small venue dates with an eight piece band. I think it'll be a great show but I'm quite happy with women backing singers and more pop sensibilities in the songs. On the subject of pop, some versions of the album will have a cover of 'I Can See Clearly Now' as a bonus track, which Francis originally cut for a British film, but was never used.
I really like this record, much more than 'King Of The Doghouse' and it's a lovely album to play if was want something cheery and catchy but not too in your face. Like I said, if you've not really found anything since Quo put out the '12 Gold Bars' compilation to your taste, there's nothing much on here you're going to connect with. But if you're quite happy with Quo's transition to mainstream in the 80's, or you like 'Thirsty Work' and their more pop orientated stuff, I'd certainly recommend this.
James Gaden
Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 12 hours ago
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site