CD Reviews

To-Mera - 'Exile' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 16, 2013    
0.0 (0)
4222   0   1   0   0   0





An album of undoubtedly challenging but at the same time ambitiously creative progressive metal music.

This is my first exposure to this critically acclaimed progressive metal band from South Oxfordshire. When I took on the assignment to review what turns out to be their third album (and their first on guitarist Tom MacLean’s own progressive music label Illusionary Records) our reviews editor Paul did warn me that their music was challenging; and how right he was! When I listened to ‘Exile’ for the first time I was somewhat overwhelmed by the myriad of styles and complexity of the music that assaulted my ears, covering everything - and I mean everything - from lounge jazz through to death metal blast beats and growls. So much so that I really was at a loss of what to make of it all!

However, I persevered and I’m glad I did as, much like peeling an onion the multiple layers of clever instrumentation gradually began to reveal themselves, exposing an album of yes, undoubtedly challenging but at the same time ambitiously creative, progressive metal music. In the opening instrumental ‘Inviting The Storm’ alone there are both eastern flavoured acoustic and viscerally heavy guitars, sweeping orchestrals, melancholic piano, vibrant percussion and what sounds awfully like a didgeridoo and that’s just the first three minutes, which probably gives you some idea of the magnitude in scope of the aural delights offered by this record. The technical virtuosity of each individual band member is exemplary; what with MacLean’s dextrous guitar histrionics, Richard Henshall’s dazzling keyboard work, Mark Harrington’s inventive bass and Paul Westwood’s truly outstanding percussion (well it would be a disservice just to refer to it as drumming!). On the long instrumental passages no-one ever becomes self indulgent, they just add their own brush strokes to the various musical textures and moods they create. Then there are Julie Kiss’ hypnotic, ethereal vocals. I can pay Julie no more of a complement than, on this showing anyway, she has every right to compare herself with the likes of other mezzo-sopranos Simone Simmons and Sharon den Adel.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

‘Exile’ is a concept album that deals with “tragedy, loss and hardship that often plunge you into a self-imposed state of exile” hence the complex soundscapes and sometimes harsh instrumentation. As such this album needs to be listened to as a whole, which is undoubtedly a greater experience than the sum of its individual parts, which, it turns out, is my biggest reservation with the material on ‘Exile’. The eight tracks that make up the sixty minutes or so of music aren’t so much songs as pieces of progressive music (there is a difference) that would make them very difficult to comprehend if they were to be listened to outwith the confines of the album; there are a couple of exceptions, however, such as the more delicately balanced ‘Broken’ and the majestic ‘All I Am’, featuring some simply wondrous guitar and Hammond interplay.

But hey this is progressive music we’re talking about after all so what does that matter…

Alister Strachan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 7 hours ago
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site