CD Reviews

Sad Café - 'Fanx Ta-Ra' / 'Misplaced Ideals' & 'Façades' / 'Sad Café' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 16, 2013    
0.0 (0)
36072   0   2   0   0   0

I urge you to check them out.

Before reviewing the music let’s have some history. In the late 70’s and early 80’s Sad Café were big; by that I mean they had hit singles (one getting to No3), appeared on ‘Top of the Pops’ and were able to sell out major venues such as Hammersmith Odeon and Manchester Free Hall. Signed to RCA and then A&M, they were arguably the UKs premier Melodic Rock band of the time.

I heard them on Radio Caroline and was hooked from the outset; subsequently I saw them live a number of times and never witnessed anything other than a superb show. Like so many bands, they imploded due to legal wrangles and alleged mis-management, which was a huge disappointment. Their incredible front-man, Paul Young, would re-emerge as one of the two vocalists in Mike & the Mechanics before his untimely death in 2000. The band’s back on the scene and their early records have been released in these two disc sets; for me this has proved a wonderful case of rediscovery.

Like 10CC, Sad Café had the ability to make Melodic Rock with a twist rather than just the predictable verse chorus style; not as radical as 10CC, perhaps, but they certainly kept things interesting. Each of these albums is chock full of well structured, melodic and tuneful songs with hooks and choruses that without fail get into your head and stay there while the vocal harmonies are certainly from the upper echelon. Young’s vocals are wonderfully emotive and Ashley Mulford’s guitar solos are always spot on and melodious. Vic Emerson’s keyboards feature regularly such as on ‘Fanx Ta-Ra’s’ ‘Shellshock’. The debut remains my favourite of their albums with all its original twelve tracks being a winner but notable among those are ‘Babylon’, ‘Hungry Eyes’, ‘Black Rose’, ‘I Believe (Love Will Survive)’ and the title track.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The follow up, ‘Misplaced Ideals’ is generally mellower but still full of great songs, specifically the Steely Dan-like ‘Run Home Girl’, the acoustically driven ‘No Place to Go’, the ballad ‘Feel Like Dying’ and upbeat closer ‘On With the Show’. The 10CC connection is reinforced by Eric Stewart producing the next two albums the first of which, ‘Façades’ gave the band their huge hit ‘Every Day Hurts’ as well as ‘Strange Little Girl’ and live favourite ‘My Oh My’. It’s not difficult to understand why the bonus tracks didn’t make the original cut as they sound undercooked and dishevelled and like several tracks on the album have a Rolling Stones vibe going on which isn’t evident on their eponymous fourth release until the final song. ‘Love Today’ makes a big nod in the direction of Little Feat, which is no bad thing. Best tracks here are La-Di-Da’, ‘What Am I Gonna Do’, ‘Keeping It From the Troops’, ‘Losin’ You’ with its superb vocal arrangement and the concluding number, ‘I’m In Love Again’.

I urge you to check them out.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site