Fireworks

CD Reviews

Cross - 'Wake Up Call' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/10/f5/46/3527_crosswakeupcall_1367370325.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 01, 2013    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
4383   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Artist

Title

Label

The sound of a band who enjoy what they’re doing.

Swedish symphonic progressive rockers Cross have released some consistently strong albums over the course of a career that began in 1988 and yet have remained very much under the radar in terms of recognition and appreciation aside from their small yet loyal following.

‘Wake Up Call’, studio album number eleven, was originally released early in 2012 and picks up where its predecessor left off by evoking memories of immediate post-Peter Gabriel Genesis, vintage period Kansas and Yes and Rush during the era when the keyboards were very much dominant. But Cross are not merely looking backwards and ‘Wake Up Call’ is punctuated throughout by many sparks of creativity and innovation. Cross guiding light, and also the boss of the Progress Records label, is Hansi Cross who contributes guitars, vocals and many of the keyboards, and the nucleus of the band is completed by drummer Tomas Hjort and bassist Lolio Andersson. Aside from the core trio, there are a number of featured guest musicians who add to the material with additional keyboards, vocals, and violin.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


Lavish vocal harmonies and sweeping keyboards are at the forefront of ‘Human Resolution’ and whilst there is no obvious concept, the lyrics seem to place the state of the world today in a dreamlike realm of fantasy and myth. After the renaissance flavoured instrumental ‘Remembrance’, Cross launch into the first of the albums two ‘epic’ numbers. ‘Falling Beyond’, is centred very much around the keyboard melodies and both the lyrics and vocals are really only a sideshow to the lengthy solos and musical passages. The seventeen minute ‘Waking Up’ certainly takes its time to build around some laid-back drumming from Hjort before it develops with much grandeur and fanfare into the albums centrepiece – again the vocals are almost redundant when compared with the expansive musical soundscapes.

‘Wake Up Call’ doesn’t break any new ground for Cross and is unlikely to see them rapidly increase their fan base, but is the sound of a band who enjoy what they’re doing and have carved out their own appealing and sophisticated style within the progressive rock umbrella.

Dean Pedley

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (3)add comment

Franco Cerchiari said:

...
Some time ago when as a writer for another hard rock/heavy metal website, I was given a CD from a band called Farflung to review. Their release, A Wound In Eternity, was very much like the music heard here. Bizarre chord changes, almost repetitive vocals, strange keyboard fills that twist and turn it's way around the guitars. With many of the tracks heard here on this Cross's prog rock effort are long. Many in excess of 9 minutes, the longest being almost 18 minutes, track 5, "Waking Up," that takes the listener on a mind trip out to the further most periods of the subconscious.

Certainly not for everyone, the music heard here is strange, cosmic and surreal. Well done indeed but one has to be in the kind of mood where long musical passageways are the norm.
 
September 14, 2013
Votes: +1

Franco Cerchiari said:

...
Some time ago when as a writer for another hard rock/heavy metal website, I was given a CD from a band called Farflung to review. Their release, A Wound In Eternity, was very much like the music heard here. Bizarre chord changes, almost repetitive vocals, strange keyboard fills that twist and turn it's way around the guitars. With many of the tracks heard here on this Cross's prog rock effort are long. Many in excess of 9 minutes, the longest being almost 18 minutes, track 5, "Waking Up," that takes the listener on a mind trip out to the further most periods of the subconscious.

Certainly not for everyone, the music heard here is strange, cosmic and surreal. Well done indeed but one has to be in the kind of mood where long musical passageways are the norm.
 
September 14, 2013
Votes: +0

Berny said:

...
Hi Franco, why don't you join Rocktopia? Makes it a lot easier to get in touch! smilies/wink.gif
 
September 14, 2013
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  October 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site