Stryper Hot

Added by James Gaden     May 31, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4581   0   1   0   0   0

Stryper - Islington Academy, London – 28th January 2010

STRYPER – Islington Academy, London – 28th January
The date of May 30th 1987 is one I’ll probably never forget. It’s not that I’m the world’s biggest Stryper fanboy or anything because there are probably four or five people in front of me in that particular queue, but the date of Stryper’s one and only UK gig at the Hammy O has come up so many times in conversation that I’m hardly likely to forget it. For reasons best known to the band themselves they never came back, although a Michael Sweet-less trio did confirm and then cancel an appearance at the Greenbelt Christian festival a few years later, which puts them somewhere behind Boston, Kansas and even Night Ranger when you tot up the UK gig count. Thankfully this unexpected jaunt across Europe included a stop-off at our fair capital, and with an eleventh hour inclusion of original bassist Tim Gaines in preference to Tracy Ferrie it was the original line-up that took the stage.
Sporting less yellow and more black than previously, the twin guitars of Oz Fox and Michael Sweet get the party underway with the instantly familiar riff to ‘Soldiers Under Command’, Sweet nailing the high notes and Fox and Gaines reminding us how good the harmonies have always been in this band. I think it’s fair to say that Stryper have weathered considerably better than most of their ilk, both physically and in the high standard of their performance, and with drummer… er, sorry, ‘visual timekeeper’ Robert Sweet flailing away from his familiar side-on position, the band certainly seem to have lost none of their dynamic edge. They show early confidence in their new material with the title-track of their latest album ‘Murder By Pride’, followed by early metal anthems like ‘Loud & Clear’ and the superb twin-guitar attack of ‘The Rock That Makes Me Roll’, both with Sweet and Fox riffing and soloing with jaw-dropping precision.
The pace rarely drops throughout their ninety minute set with mid-paced commercial rockers like ‘Reach Out’, ‘Free’ and ‘Calling On You’ being as sedate as it gets, and the bible throwing was so brief you could easily have missed it. It’s not surprising given Michael’s current position as Boston’s singer that they trot out an amazing version of ‘Peace Of Mind’, but probably the most unexpected moment was their version of Judas Priest’s ‘Breaking The Law’ that preceded it, and great it was too. Other new songs like ‘4 Leaf Clover’ and the ‘new’ version of ‘My Love I’ll Always Show’ were aired alongside ‘Open Your Eyes’ from ‘Reborn’ and the brilliant ‘All For One’ from ‘Against The Law’, the latter with Jeff Scott Soto loudly re-creating his original backing vocals from behind my right shoulder. The set proper closes with the high-energy riffing of ‘The Way’ and the band return with the layered harmonies of ‘Sing-Along Song’ and an inevitable ‘To Hell With The Devil’, with Sweet easily nailing the screams, the crowd singing the words and giant yellow balloons bouncing around the venue.
This show had been a long time coming, but it’s heartening after so many disappointing shows by some of our 80’s heroes (naming no names!) that Stryper still have every weapon in their armoury fully loaded. Even my Fireworks companion for the evening - the slightly sceptical Monica Castedo-Lopez - was impressed with their performance. Lets hope we all live long enough to see their next UK show.
Phil Ashcroft
Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 17 hours ago
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site