CD Reviews

Joe Bonamassa - 'An Acoustic Evening At The Vienna Opera House' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 04, 2013    
0.0 (0)
1604   0   1   0   0   0


Another week, another Joe Bonamassa album. Does this guy ever sleep? As the ridiculously prolific guitarist continues to keep the albums coming, there's always a danger of over saturating your market. While most would say there hasn't been a dip in quality in terms of studio releases, the thought of a full concert of acoustic renditions sounded a little bland. Then I watched the DVD and listened to the album and completely revised my opinion.

Originally Bonamassa planned to go out alone play one man shows, one voice, one guitar, no frills. While I have no doubt it would have been very good, a full double album of that would not be something I would return to again and again over his other work. However, the equally prolific producer Kevin Shirley stepped in, suggesting Joe keep the idea of playing acoustically, but instead go out with a band backing him with all manner of weird and wonderful instruments.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

This release is the result and I have to say I was severely impressed. Backed by a phenomenal quartet of musicians in the form of Gerry O'Connor, Mats Wester, Arlan Schierbaum and Lenny Castro, Bonamassa stays seated front and centre with an array of guitars and his voice clear and strong. Listening to this with a much more subtle backing, I was even more impressed with just how good a singer and guitarist he is. There is nowhere to hide in this show and he is faultless throughout. From the more recent material of 'Dust Bowl' and an amazing 'Slow Train', to older cuts like the glorious 'Mountain Time' or the amazing guitar work on the 'Blues Deluxe' cut 'Woke Up Dreaming', every song is given a new treatment while still resembling the original. With backing in the form of fiddles, banjos and accordions, along with makeshift percussion like the clanking chain in 'The Ballad Of John Henry', the sheer variety of musical flavours freshens up a collection of already great songs. Mats Wester even plays a Nyckelharpa which sounds fantastic – how many albums do you own with one of those on?

The result is engaging and excellent – at times it's almost in Blackmore's Night territory. From originals like 'Sloe Gin' and 'Driving Towards The Daylight' to well chosen covers like 'Stones In My Passageway' and Bad Company's 'Seagull', every track is a winner. If you had asked me beforehand "Does the world need an acoustic Joe Bonamassa record?" I'd have said no. Now I've watched the DVD and listened to the album, I'll say yes, absolutely yes. Brilliant.

James Gaden


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by