Revamp - 'Wild Card' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 27, 2013    
0.0 (0)
5017   3   1   0   0   0





Eleven tracks of expressive, powerful and diverse metal.

Like any genre, the Female Fronted fraternity has several names that are considered the big guns. One of these has to be Floor Jansen who fronted After Forever and then went on to form her own band ReVamp. They released their self titled debut in 2010 and since that record Jansen has been on the road temporarily fronting Nightwish. With that trip soon over, she and Revamp are back with their follow up 'Wild Card'.

If you're looking for a relaxing listen, you best move on as this is pretty hostile stuff. As Jansen says, 'this became the most aggressive album I have ever made'. 'Wild Card' is an intense and heavy listening experience that borders on psychotic at times and it's a reflection of her publicised burnout. The opening two tracks symbolise this with 'The Anatomy Of A Nervous Breakdown - On The Sideline' and 'TAOANB - The Limbic System'. Both are filled with frantic guitar work and hefty progressions with Jansen's vocals as schizophrenic as the titled suggests, ranging from wailing soprano to clean rock to brutal growls. 'Sideline' has an infectious chorus that demands to be replayed while listeners will find 'Limbic' slightly more Symphonic but no less wild. 'TAOANB' resurfaces mid-album with the equally crazy duet 'Neurathenia' featuring Devin Townsend. This adds squealing synth with Jansen and Townsend in a clean vocal duet. ReVamp also veers into After Forever territory with 'I Can Become' and 'Misery No Crime'. That's especially true of 'Misery...' with its death grunting from Jansen's long term cohort Mark Jansen. '...Become' is a bit more varied with some fat techno bass and keyboard solo full of effects. A more traditional Symphonic Metal sound can be heard in 'Precibus', 'Nothing' and 'Distorted Lullabies'. My favourite though has to be the title track with its revolving riff and powerful vocals that build up to a piano filled, thundering chorus.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

What we have here is something that may be unusual, but it's certainly a bit special. Make no mistake this is not for those with a faint heart or those with a dislike of death growling. But for everyone else this is eleven tracks of expressive, powerful and diverse metal. 'Wild Card' is a reminder of why Jansen is one of the most astonishing vocalists around. I can't think of another who can deploy such a vocal range or has the ability and skill to match those displayed here. The swing from soprano to death grunting may not be to everyone's taste but that doesn't make it any less staggering. Everything else from the axe work to the production is of equal standard to the singing making this stellar album one I rate higher every time I listen to it.

Just when I thought I'd seen it all this year, Jansen throws in her 'Wild Card' to make me think again.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site