CD Reviews

LastDayHere - 'A New Beginning' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 04, 2014    
0.0 (0)
3723   1   1   0   0   0




This is a raucous and lively record.

I know from experience that Nickelback is a band that people either love or loathe. I would class myself in the first although the word love is a bit strong. I can however understand the criticism that's been aimed at them about the repetitiveness of their music or that it is too radio friendly for some. So why the hell am I wittering on about Nickelback you ask? Well the reason is that LastDayHere from Slovenia has a sound that is comparable, if heavier with more moderns tweaks, to the earlier days of the aforementioned American outfit.

'A New Beginning' is actually LDH's second record following on from their debut 'From Pieces Created'. This time they have served up fifteen tracks of boisterous and modern Heavy Rock/Metal, (depending on your definitions), with plenty of thick guitar riffs and punchy vocals throughout. The likes of 'Simply Devine', 'Material Attraction' and 'Getting Higher' all feature that Modern Metal breakdown style of Alternative guitar with skips and jumps in the melody. There's some cool cascading guitar melodies in 'Simply' and 'Higher' whilst the chorus of 'Material' reminded me a little of Harem Scarem. There's more revolving axe work in 'Road To Nowhere' this time sitting atop a riff that chunters along into the song's catchy chorus; it's certainly no Peter Gabriel cover. Potential listeners will also find other infectious choruses and bounding progressions in 'Fly Away' and 'Slow Down'. In keeping with the Nickelback comparison there are also a couple of slower songs like 'All I Need' which is very reminiscent of 'How You Remind Me'. The closer 'Without You', (featuring Mojac Zalar), is far softer than all the other songs with plenty of acoustic guitar and even when the electrics do surface, it's less full-blooded.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

If you like your Modern Metal with a bit of catchiness then I heartily suggest you check out this wicked and energetic album. There's a real bounce about it courtesy of the thumping power chord progressions and quick fire work from the rhythm section; this certainly isn't Busted! Marko Duplisak has a similar singing style to Chad Kroeger but delivers his lyrics with a bit more attitude. Musically the rest of the band kicks some proverbial backside with a swagger that is equal to their frontman. The knock that some may have is that at fifteen tracks this is a little over long. But I found enough diversity amongst the songs that it didn't present an issue for me.

This is a raucous and lively record that gave me a bit of spring in my step and if this is 'A New Beginning' then it certainly shows a lot of potential.

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site