CD Reviews

Roger Taylor - 'Fun On Earth' Hot

Added by James Gaden     January 06, 2014    
0.0 (0)
5598   0   1   0   0   0




The Queen drummer's fifth solo album, and most eclectic work to date.

Although best known as the drummer and occasional vocalist for rock legends Queen, Roger Taylor is by far the most prolific member in terms of work outside the group. He was the first member to dip his toe in solo waters, releasing a single ‘I Wanna Testify’ followed in 1981 by a solo album ‘Fun In Space’. Playing almost everything himself and handling all the vocals, Taylor proved to be a talented all rounder.

He released ‘Strange Frontier’ in 1984 before forming his own band The Cross in 1987, handling rhythm guitar and lead vocals. He penned the debut effort ‘Shove It’ alone, with The Cross releasing two more albums. Taylor himself released two more solo records ‘Happiness?’ (1994) and ‘Electric Fire’ (1998), while still finding time to write consistenly strong material, including smash hits such as ‘Radio Ga Ga’ and ‘A Kind Of Magic’, for his parent group.

Originally stating ‘Electric Fire’ would he his last solo album, when it came time for the Queen + Paul Rodgers album ‘The Cosmos Rocks’, Brian May was busy with his thesis in astrophysics and only contributed a couple of his own songs, so Taylor penned about half of the album. It seems to have sparked an interest in recording again, as now his fifth solo album ‘Fun On Earth’ lands.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

His most eclectic work yet, the album’s title pays homage to where it all started and delivers rock fare such as ‘One Night Stand!’, ‘Up’ and the excellent tongue in cheek stomper ‘I Am The Drummer (In A Rock And Roll Band)’ alongside gentle cuts like ‘Be My Gal (My Brightest Spark)’ and ‘Smile’. Taylor adds his great rendition of the Queen + Paul Rodgers track ‘Small’ as well as revisiting ‘Say It’s Not True’, now given a more bluesy feel by guest Jeff Beck. There’s political fare in the form of ‘The Unblinking Eye’ as well as songs talking about soldier’s struggles in ‘Fight Club’ and ‘Quality Street’, both of which make effective use of saxophone.

Aside from the sax, Taylor again takes responsibility for the bulk of the instrumentation. Vocally he is on top form, from the gravelly to the lilting and drawing comparisons to Rod Stewart on the superb single ‘Sunny Day’.

I’m a huge fan of Roger’s output and I love this record. Fans like myself will also know there is a lavish box set called ‘The Lot’ which features this album, and all his previous solo and Cross releases. If you’re new to his solo output, this magnificent effort is a great place to begin. Fun indeed!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 5 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us