Royal Hunt - 'A Life To Die For' Hot

Added by James Gaden     January 06, 2014    
0.0 (0)
8058   0   1   0   0   0


Powerful, melodic, captivating.

Talking with DC Cooper at this year’s Firefest I asked him how the new Royal Hunt album was coming along. “It’s in the can” he replied “and we’re all real proud of it, I can tell you”. What’s it like I asked? There was a small pause and then he answered “Well it is a lot more symphonic than before if you get my meaning? More over the top, more everything really and I think it’s the best album that we’ve made together”. This of course made me want to hear the new album as soon as possible and when it finally arrived and hit the death deck only a few days after I returned home from FF, I was left gob-smacked by how accurately DC Cooper had described this new album. Let me tell you straight away that he wasn’t exaggerating in any way when he said that this is the most symphonic Royal Hunt album to date, and after playing it many, many times, like him I also believe that this is the best album the band have made together.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Everything just fits so well together and the performances are of such a high calibre, that the seven songs (yes only seven again - Boo!) that make up this CD always keep you enthralled and entertained from the very first note played until the last one fades away. ‘Hell Comes Down From Heaven’ starts the album in truly bombastic fashion, with Andre Andersen’s keyboards taking centre stage but ably supported by the wonderful guitars, bass and drums of Jonas Larsen, Andreas Passmark and Allen Sorensen respectively. Yet again though it’s the returning DC Cooper who steals the show throughout this song and in fact the rest of the album, with an inspired vocal performance of a man who seems to be really enjoying himself and what he does for a living. Then just take a listen to ‘A Bullet’s Tale’ or ‘Running Out Of Tears’ and you’ll find yourself in symphonic metal hog heaven as Royal Hunt rock your world, with glorious melodies and big overblown hooks that are highly intoxicating and leave you drunk on their headiness. ‘One Minute Left’, ‘Sign Of Yesterday’ and ‘Won’t Trust, Won’t Fear, Won’t Beg’ continue to pummel your senses with their pomp and majesty but Royal Hunt leave the best until last with their nine minute epic title track ‘A Life To Die For’, a track that all other Royal Hunt songs have been leading up to. Powerful, melodic, captivating, this song is Royal Hunt and Andre Andersen wrapped up into one all out rock ’n’ roll package. Yes it is that good.

‘A Life To Die For’ is therefore the complete Royal Hunt experience, whether you’re a long time fan or new to the band, this album has everything you’ll ever need from this band as regards overblown symphonic rock! Definitely a must have album.

Ian Johnson  

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site