DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Status Quo - 'Back2SQ.1 - The Frantic Four Reunion 2013' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 08, 2014    
0.0 (0)
6080   3   1   0   0   0

Essential for those who remember the good old days.

While Status Quo have a staggering collection of 100 hit singles culled from five decades of work, many fans look back to the 'Frantic Four' era as the peak period. The quartet of Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt, Alan Lancaster and John Coghlan were responsible for several bonfide Quo classics that the current line up retain as staples of their live set wherever they go.

The 'Frantic Four' period ended when Coghlan left the band in 1981. Although Lancaster remained, Quo explored more mainstream avenues with songs like 'Marguerita Time'. After Live Aid, a messy court case ended Lancaster's tenure in the band for good. Quo continued on with Parfitt and Rossi, augmented by Andy Bown, John 'Rhino' Edwards and Jeff Rich, and enjoyed continued success, leaving the idea of the original 'Frantic Four' getting back together as nothing more than a pipe dream.

Never say never though – fifty years on from Lancaster and Rossi first forming Quo, a reunion is exactly what happened. Playing a nine date UK tour, this DVD sees them at Wembley performing a set which is based heavily on the classic 'Live' double album from 1976.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

First impressions are the magic is still there. It's a no frills set up, Rossi is a better guitarist than he was in the 70s and Lancaster steps up to the plate and handles the vocals for 'Backwater' and 'Just Take Me' like he'd never been away. While 'Roll Over Lay Down' and 'Caroline' are surprising omissions, the inclusion of the seldom heard '(April) Spring Summer And Wednesdays' is most welcome.

The band really click about an hour in, when 'Forty Five Hundred Times' is unveiled. It's an excellent version, despite being considerably shorter as it morphs into a thunderous rendition of 'Rain' and the awesome 'Big Fat Mama'. While not being at his best vocally here, Parfitt is a monster on rhythm guitar, indefatigable from start to finish.

The Wembley show is also available on Blu-ray, while the Glasgow and Hammersmith gigs are available on CD. There is also a limited edition earBook which features all those releases, offset by a lavish 120 page booklet. Rossi alluded to the tour being a struggle due to Coghlan slowing down as the set wore on, and there is evidence of this on 'Down Down' which seems sluggish compared to how it's performed by the current line up – something very noticeable on the Hammersmith release too. Nevertheless, it's most entertaining.

I really enjoy Quo's current line up and I enjoyed this. Those who don't care for the bands later output will love it. Essential for those who remember the good old days!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 5 hours ago
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site