Status Quo ('Frantic Four' reunion show) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 11, 2014    
0.0 (0)
5147   0   1   0   0   0


Status Quo - Apollo, Manchester (UK) - 6th March 2013

Status Quo: probably thought of in most circles as predictable, safe, one of the bands most likely to give their fans exactly what they want. And they did just that tonight in spectacular fashion, but for a few fans it seemed it wasn't quite what they wanted.

Anticipation of the first gig from the 'Frantic Four' line up could hardly have been greater, you could feel the roar and excitement as the lights dipped and the curtain fell to reveal the four, arms aloft, together on stage for the first time in thirty years. 'Junior's Wailing' dating back to the 'Ma Kelly...' album opens the set with Alan Lancaster taking care of the vocals and continues into 'Backwater' and 'Just Take Me'. This is Status Quo reminding us what they do best, hard rocking blues based boogie, nothing fancy.

Concentrating on the 1972 – 1976 period, tacks from 'On The Level', 'Quo', 'Hello' and 'Piledriver' all hit the mark. Francis Rossi reminded us in style what a great blues guitarist he is with some fine lead work throughout the show. John Coghlan and Alan Lancaster are as solid a rhythm team as ever, not withstanding Rossi's claim that despite a few rehearsals they were just going to leave the mistakes in the set, it runs more like the a well oiled machine than an old neglected one. Favourites 'Little Lady' 'Forty Five Hundred Times' and 'Big Fat Mama' keep the enthusiastic crowd rocking until a rousing cover of The Doors 'Roadhouse Blues' brings the main set to a close.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

But for those Quo fans expecting a reunion Greatest Hits package though, this is where there were a few mumblings of "they didn't play many I knew". No 'Rockin' All Over The World', no 'Caroline', 'Paper Plane', or 'Whatever You Want'. From the hit singles of the seventies, only 'Rain' and 'Down Down' make an appearance in the set list. The return of the original Frantic Four sees the return to the original hard rocking Albums band of the seventies. No pandering to the charts and the singles market tonight. Encores of 'Don't Waste My Time' and Chuck Berry's 'Bye Bye Johnny' close the night in raucous and magnificent sing-along style.

Undoubtedly a triumphant return, the longstanding Quo fans lapped it up and Status Quo did what Status Quo always do. Stylized it may be, but instantly recognisable and undoubtedly Quo. For some it was the first chance to see the original line up in action, for many it was a chance we thought would never happen again. Personally I applaud the band for not going through the motions with the easy option of a singles set. Although there will be a few who disagreed, any dissenters were well and truly drowned out by the majority. Anticipation and expectations exceeded.

Ian Parry


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site