Concert Reviews

Diamond Head / Uli Jon Roth Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 15, 2014    
0.0 (0)
2787   0   1   0   0   0


Diamond Head / Uli Jon Roth - O2 Academy, Liverpool (UK) - 24th September 2013

Being an old school rocker who actually remembers Uli Jon Roth in the Scorpions and saw Diamond Head back in 1981, this was a gig that immediately appealed to me. There was just a nagging doubt, however, that with celebrating songs from a band he joined forty years ago and a support who are possibly just as famous for influencing Metallica as for their own music, whether we'd be looking at just one big nostalgia trip.

Liverpool Academy was pretty packed and most pleasingly with plenty of younger generation and teenage metal fans. UJRs set began with 'All Night Long' from the Scorpions 'Tokyo Tapes' album, his guitar work as fluid and smooth as ever, his lead breaks just flowing effortlessly. Carl Sentance provided a powerful vocal and was full of energy and enthusiasm on stage. The main set consisted entirely of early Scorpions tracks first recorded by Uli. The perhaps lesser known 'Longing For Fire' and 'Crying Days' see 'The Voice' contestant Nathan James taking over the vocal role, before they really hit the heights with 'Sails Of Charon' and 'We'll Burn The Sky' with sublime, simply stunning soloing from UJR. 'In Trance' and an epic 'Fly To The Rainbow' appeared too, before the whole place rocked out to a frantic version of 'Catch Your Train'. A couple of Hendrix covers: 'All Along The Watchtower' and 'Little Wing' brought the return of Sentance to close the set. Be under no illusion, UJR is one of the finest guitarist you are ever likely to see. After years of orchestral and symphonic leanings, it's great to hear him just rocking out and paying great homage to his early Scorps history.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site

Brian Tatler may be the remaining original Diamond Head member, but tonight's line-up has been together for long enough, and with three albums under their belts, they've made their own contribution to the DH legacy. From the opening chords of 'Play It Loud' there's an energetic full-on performance from the band. Guitarist Andy Abberley and Eddie Moohan on bass provide as tight a rhythm team as you could hope to see with powerhouse drummer Karl Wilcox never letting the pace or intensity drop for a second. 'Dead Reckoning', 'To Heaven From Hell' and 'The Prince' may be thirty years old but still sounded as fresh as the day they were written. Brian is, of course, the main man most have come to see. Faultless soloing, throwing all the shapes and poses you could wish to see, Diamond Head is Tatler's baby and it's clear he still loves and cherishes every minute of it, the grin barely leaving his face all night. Newer material such as 'Feel No Pain' and 'Give It To Me' stood alongside the classics of 'Shoot Out The Lights' and 'It's Electric' with ease. And then there's Nick Tart... Brian may be the name everyone knows, but Nick is right up there as the star of the show. Certainly his voice has its similarities to Sean Harris but he's no imitator, old and new songs being handled with enthusiasm and ease. He's also a consummate showman, constantly on the move, working and engaging the audience throughout.

They say things turn full circle, Diamond Head having influenced Metallica and Megadeth and many of the younger guys in the crowd got into Diamond Head after hearing those covers giving them a new generation of fans. 'Am I Evil' and 'Helpless' closed the set in style and with performances like this they'll carry on winning new followers – old material or not.

Nostalgia trip? Some people may have seen it that way, but after witnessing these performances, I wouldn't even whisper that anywhere near the bands themselves if I were you. Thirty years on and never better...

Ian Parry

Diamond Head 2013-Live-Review-Rocktopia

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : We prouldy present the new music video by American Tears! Check out our News Section ... «link»
  • Berny : Interviews with SLEEPING ROMANCE & VISIONS OF ATLANTIS ... «link» Enloy! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site