Concert Reviews

Steve Hackett (Genesis Revisited II) / Alan Reed Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 16, 2014    
0.0 (0)
6178   0   1   0   0   0


Steve Hackett (Genesis Revisited II) / Alan Reed - City Hall, Sheffield (UK) - 30th October 2013

I had really been looking forward to this, having not been able to get to one of the earlier gigs in May. The tour had sold really well on the initial leg, and I was very pleased to see that this set of dates also appeared to have done the same. We may be old, but we never forget...

In support this time was Alan Reed, whom any prog fan will know, used to be vocalist with Scots proggers Pallas. Having been doing his own thing for quite some time now, I was a little surprised when he sat, centre stage, with two electro-acoustic guitars, and gave us a mainly Pallas set: 'For The Greater Glory,' 'Who's To Blame,' 'Sanctuary,' which for me worked best in this format, and 'Begin Again,' which was one of his own songs. Naturally, being a prog audience, many of us knew the material, and the whole audience appreciated it, which Alan also appreciated. We know this, because he told us so.

So, onto Mr Hackett, who arrived on stage at around 8:20, with his merry band of men. My initial thought was that they all looked like ordinary guys that Steve could have dragged in off the street. All except vocalist Nad Sylvan that is, who didn't. I then thought, 'Hmm, Peter Gabriel used to look different, so...." It soon became very clear that they were not dragged off the street, as we were drowned in nostalgia, kicking off with 'Dance On A Volcano'. Classic after classic followed with 'Dancing With The Moonlit Night', 'Fly On A Windshield' and 'Broadway Melody of 1974', 'The Lamia', 'The Return Of The Giant Hogweed' and 'The Musical Box', and separated from 'Supper's Ready', the classical 'Horizons'. Jules Verne would have learned a lot about time travel if he had been here tonight.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Carrying on, we had a 'Wind And Wuthering' section with 'Blood On The Rooftops', 'Unquiet Slumbers For The Sleepers', 'In That Quiet Earth' and 'Afterglow'. 'I Know What I Like' featured a sax solo from Rob Townsend, who also used various fruits as percussion. Steve's greatest ever guitar solo featured in 'Firth Of Fifth' as did his brother John, with a small section on the flute, and then Steve announced that 'The Fountain Of Salmacis' was one of his favourite Genesis songs and one that was always difficult to pull off, and that it may or may not work. I'm happy to say that it did. And so we reached that part of the evening that is the holy grail to all 'old Genesis' fans, 'Supper's Ready'. Needless to say, this still sends shivers up the spine, and for me nothing in the prog library will ever beat it. This received a standing ovation, and also ended the main set. It wasn't long however before they were back for an encore with 'Watcher Of The Skies' and 'Los Endos', which fittingly brought the evening to an end.

A comment was made by Steve between a couple of the songs, that this material still sounded fresh, despite being conceived in the seventies. He was right, and while I found myself comparing tonight's show with previous Musical Box performances, and the fact that there is no variation in their performances of the songs at all, I have no doubt that it is the slight variations that Steve does that helps the songs to sound fresh.

Any 'old Genesis' fan who hasn't yet seen this show is really missing something. Any new, or non Genesis fans, should also dip their toe, and find out what it was really all about, it having recently been announced that the tour is being extended with new dates in 2014, so all those that may have missed it will get the chance.

Andy B


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 1 hour ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site