Fireworks

Book & Magazine Reviews

Dave Thompson - 'If You Like Led Zeppelin ...' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/cf/bf/d5/dave-thompson-if-you-like-led-zeppelin-Rocktopia-Book-Review-52-1390252029.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 20, 2014    
5687   0   1   0   0   0

Published by: Backbeat Books

The latest instalment of the 'If You Like...' series turns its attention to perhaps the biggest rock band of them all: Led Zeppelin. I approached this book with a degree of trepidation because, as our regular readers will know, I wasn't particularly enamoured with 'If You Like Metallica...' that I reviewed in these very pages. My reservations were quickly cast aside within the first few pages however; when the author enthuses that "because, no matter how successful the groups of the last three decades have been...not one of those record breakers has even threatened to match the sheer weight of influence that Zeppelin exerted on their surroundings...No, Bono, not even you". I immediately thought to myself I like this guy's style; I think I'm going to enjoy this and I'm happy to say I did.

It does help that this book's author, Dave Thompson, is a bona-fide music journalist; who has contributed to the likes of Rolling Stone and Mojo as well as penning numerous tomes covering a varied musical spectrum from Cat Stevens through to Nirvana. This isn't a book about Led Zeppelin as such; it more looks at the diversity of influences that the band would draw from throughout their career and how, in turn, their music would go on to inspire the rock world and beyond over the next four decades. As such, chapters are devoted to some of Zeppelin's biggest influences; blues and folk – where the authors tips his hat to Roy Harper (sorry couldn't resist that one!) amongst others and how they spearheaded the blues rock revolution in the late 60s/early 70s. Thompson cleverly highlights artists you may wish to explore further into his very readable narrative - some of them you will agree with, some of them not - but his points are well argued and his use of quotes from a variety of the artists themselves (sourced from his own journalistic archive) give added depth to his reasoning.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


It's his chapters on The Yardbirds; Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones' 60s session work and the band's "vanity label" Swan Song that Zeppelin fans will find most interesting; where even I, who has read his fair share of Zep related books and articles, learned something new. The most thought-provoking section of this fine book, however, is the first; covering 1968, the year the band was born, when in the author's words "music turned serious" against a backdrop of the student unrest threatening the establishment and perhaps mirroring our own Paul Jerome Smith's comments in his Steve Miller Band reissue review last time.

All told, this book will make a nice stocking-filler for Led Zep fans and open minded rock fans alike.

Alister Strachan

that I

Share this on the web.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site