Book & Magazine Reviews

Andrew Wild - 'One For The Record - The Authorised Biography Of Galahad' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 21, 2014    
8407   0   1   0   0   0

An invaluable manual for any budding band hoping to survive in the music business on their own terms.

Published by: Ministry Of Prog

For any band to reach the milestone of having been in existence for quarter of a century is quite an achievement. However, to have notched up twenty five years together as a recording and touring entity whilst holding down day jobs and never actually having signed a record deal, is a real feat of perseverance and commitment. One which 'One For The Record - The Authorised Biography Of Galahad' commemorates in fine style.

Written by Andrew Wild after Galahad had been impressed by his biography of Twelfth Night, 'One For The Record' features extensive interviews with band members past and present, charting the formation of Galahad right through to the present day through the eyes of those who were there, and also a huge amount of people who either helped or merely observed and supported through the band's many different line-ups and styles. It makes for an easy read more in the style of elongated music press interviews rather than a more traditional narrative piece, although the book does (in the main) work chronologically through this outfit's career.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

All the participants are candid with regards to the break-ups and make-ups that have characterised much of the history of Galahad, with a refreshing honesty about the shortcomings, as well as the many and obvious high points in the band's catalogue. Galahadeers current and past are also up-front about what caused the parting of ways on the many occasions they have happened in this band's history. However what comes across most strongly is the affection each and every musician who has passed through the Galahad ranks still has for the band, the music and the fans. That aspect goes a long way to explaining the longevity of this outfit, as does the humour and good nature with which Galahad have overcome the many, many obstacles DIY bands face: one particularly ill-fated jaunt round Europe being recounted throughout the book in fine, side splitting, head shaking style.

Self financed and published, the odd typo is easily excused and while there are far "weightier" music tomes out there, I have to say it is a long time since I've enjoyed a band biography as much as I have 'One For The Record'. The very fact that not only was I inspired to listen to the relevant pieces of the band's back catalogue as I read, but to go as far as to actually plug the few Galahad-gaps in my collection, should tell you how engaging a read it is. Add to that extensive song, gig, cover version, line-up and band member lists, a discography and a DVD which cherry picks live performances from throughout the band's twenty five years, not only is this book a must have for Galahad fans, it also makes for an invaluable manual for any budding band hoping to survive in the music business on their own terms.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 8 hours ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us