Book & Magazine Reviews

Ian Rusten & Jon Stebbins - 'The Beach Boys In Concert' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 21, 2014    
5012   0   1   0   0   0

Not just a detailed document of the band's live history, but a reference book delivered in a concise and digestible form.

Published by: Backbeat Books

This book was put together by Beach Boys historians and music lovers Ian Rusten and Jon Stebbins. Having read Jon Stebbins' books on Beach Boy drummer and singer Dennis Wilson ('The Real Beach Boy - The Lost Beach Boy'), I was quite aware of his depth of knowledge on the band.

It's an attractive, large hard back, printed on glossy paper complete with anecdotes, rare photos and concert posters, covering every year since 1961 to the 50th anniversary tour of 2012. This is four hundred pages of exhaustive detail. Be warned, this is not for the casual fan looking for a biography on the band. There are plenty of those around, and I would recommend 'Heroes and Villains' by Steven Gaines if that's what you are after.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

It is not until we leave the teen years of the bands' history behind and enter the later years of 1967 that the legendary work of Brian Wilson and The Beach Boys really emerges. Documenting Brian's retirement from the stage and Bruce Johnstone's arrival to the band, we emerge from the surfing years with a new-found maturity and more soulful musical delivery.
Every support slot, venue and mishap (there are plenty as Dennis Wilson finds his place on and off the stage) and set list is offered here in fine detail. That's not to say it's all facts and figures. There are plenty of quotes from all band members that give a whole new perspective on each decade of their existence.

Not just a detailed document of the band's live history, but a reference book delivered in a concise and digestible form. If you ever wondered why The Beach Boys were called America's band, this book may go a long way to explaining that.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us