Anette Olzon - 'Shine' Hot

Added by James Gaden     March 07, 2014    
0.0 (0)
10586   0   1   0   0   0





‘Shine’ is magnificent, fabulous and simply stunning!

I can’t even begin to tell you how astonishingly beautiful ‘Shine’ is. Its seductive charm transcends all musical genres and Anette Olzon’s crystal clear, pure Soprano voice transports you to that fabulous dream world that existed when you were a child, with her haunting melodies and heartfelt delivery, it creates a majestic heavenly beauty. It’s not often albums as good as this give me goose-bumps, but what Olzon and her fellow collaborators have achieved here is nothing short of melodic musical perfection.

Assisted by a strong song-writing team in Anders Bagge, Stefan Orn and Johan Glossner... is it Rock? Is it Pop? Well, it’s neither really; it has elements of both Alyson Avenue and Nightwish but also evokes memories of the fabulous ABBA. All I can say is that AOR fans will fall in love with it because of the sheer melodic class oozing out of every note and nuance of Olzon’s vocals.

All but one of the ten songs were conceived and virtually finished in 2009 when Nightwish were on a mini break, but it’s taken over a year since Olzon’s departure from the band for them to see the light of day as she now seems ready to face the world again. It’s an exceptionally personal album with the hauntingly beautiful, a cappella led ‘Invincible’ dedicated to her eldest son and ‘Watching Me From Afar’ being a declaration of love to her husband Johan Husgafvel (Pain bassist). It’s an achingly gorgeous a cappella ballad that is accompanied by a single gentle drum beat before being enveloped in ethereal vocals and strings as it reaches its climax, evoking memories of some of Agnetha Faltskog’s post ABBA work.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The one new song ‘One Million Faces’ was co-written with Bloodbound’s Fredrik Bergh, and Within Temptation’s Martijn Spierenburg and again is very Faltskog-like in places beginning with a piano intro and Olzon’s smooth exceptional vocals. The song’s climb and chorus is breathtaking!

To be honest this whole album sparkles and excites. Take the magnificent opener ‘Falling’ with its glorious soaring melodic chorus and insistent riff smothered in strings, the ambient sounds and modern stylings of the uplifting title track with its Progressive Industrial almost hidden riff, and the temperate drum beat and acoustic guitar of ‘Moving Away’ with its smooth gorgeous chorus.

The quirky ‘Floating’ could almost be Kate Bush’s ‘Army Dreamers’ and allows Olzon’s beautiful voice to shine whilst ‘Hear Me’ carries you away to a warm and safe place. The fact that ‘Lies’ is sung with such vigour is because it references her divorce and ‘Like A Show Inside My Head’ is an hypnotic, strings led beauty.

Full of Scandinavian melancholy and sung with heartfelt sincerity’ ‘Shine’ is magnificent, fabulous and simply stunning!

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

PJS said:

I totally agree!

Paul smilies/smiley.gif
March 08, 2014
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site