W.E.T. - 'Live In Stockholm' Hot

Added by James Gaden     March 07, 2014    
0.0 (0)
3786   0   1   0   0   0



Put simply ‘One Live – In Stockholm’ is superb.

Anyone who attended Firefest in 2011 or 2013 will already know how spectacular the Melodic Rock sensations W.E.T. were on both occasions. However, unless you were in Stockholm on the 17th of January 2013 then you won’t have been lottery jackpot winning lucky enough to have experienced them in the flesh and completely on their own terms.

‘One Live – In Stockholm’ is the 2CD/1DVD document of that night - and what a night it must have been with the amazing ball of energy that is Jeff Scott Soto, Erik Mårtensson having a cheeky boyish grin from start to finish and Robert Säll flitting between guitar, keyboards and backing vocals with supreme ease. A variety of camera angles keeps the action interesting even if the stage is a tight little strip; the sheer energy and passion from each band member resulting in one of the best live albums I’ve heard and seen in years (especially from a Melodic Rock band).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Six classics from the self titled debut, nine from the, at that time, upcoming ‘Rise Up’ album, as well as four numbers from the bands which provide W.E.T. with their name ably illustrates the superb catalogue these musicians have amassed. Soto is, as ever, in superb voice, whether he is hammering out low notes, reaching for the heights, or simply howling with delight while cajoling and commanding the enthusiastic crowd. Mårtensson backs him ably, taking lead vocals when the need (or song) arises, his guitar work creating the spark from which all these songs ignite into life, while Säll provides the rock everything is built on. Special mention also needs go to the rest of the band, Magnus Henriksson (guitar), Robban Bäck (drums) and Andreas Passmark (bass), who all add to this supremely tight, energetic performance that’s captivating from start to finish.

Unlike most “modern” live albums, the energy, spark and joy on stage at this momentous occasion really comes across here. Old friends ‘Invincible’, ‘I’ll Be There’ and ‘Brothers In Arms’ are greeted as heroes while ‘One Love’, ‘Still Unbroken’ and ‘Rise Up’ are hailed as the classics they’ve become. The Eclipse track ‘Bleed & Scream’ with Mårtensson on the mic hits hard, as does the Work Of Art belter ‘The Great Fall’ where Lars Säfsund of WoA takes lead vocals, whereas ‘I’ll Be Waiting’ and ‘Mysterious’ give a timely reminder of just what a great band Talisman were – fittingly ‘Comes Down Like Rain’ is dedicated to Soto’s sadly departed Talisman mate Marcel Jacob.

The CD adds two new tracks, ‘Poison (Numb The Pain)’ and ‘Bigger Than Both Of Us’, which are both good enough to have graced ‘Rise Up’, while the DVD offers video clips of ‘Love Heals’ and ‘Learn To Live Again’. However the main event here is the superb documenting of one the few real “occasions” to occur in the Melodic Rock scene outside of Firefest for quite some time.

Put simply ‘One Live – In Stockholm’ is superb.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 13 hours ago
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site