CD Reviews

Saxon - 'St. George's Day Sacrifice - Live In Manchester' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 17, 2014    
0.0 (0)
3494   0   1   0   0   0

Saxon are as forceful, relevant and downright fun as ever.

For a band who have spent much of the nineties and early noughties in the doldrums as far as the UK mainstream Rock press was concerned, the turn round in fortunes of the Barnsley Big Teasers, Saxon, has been nothing short of remarkable. I remember not that many years ago, heading along to King Tut's (a glorified pub in Glasgow) to see them put on a storming, although hardly packed out, performance in an amazingly tight sweaty venue. However a decade or so on and the same band visited the same city to play a sold out hall some four times bigger. On that very same tour in 2013 they also recorded their St George's Day show in Manchester and present it here in all its 'Power And Glory' (an album this tour also celebrated the thirtieth anniversary of!), with a superb mix of Saxon old and new. In fact it is testament to the form this act currently find themselves in, that during a two hour plus show they crammed in an impressive six songs from their latest album 'Sacrifice', with not one of them sounding out of place alongside classics such as '747 (Strangers In The Night)', 'Denim And Leather', 'Crusader', or 'Princess Of The Night'. In fact 'Made In Belfast', 'Sacrifice' and 'Stand Up And Fight' are all genuine highlights.

Singer Biff Byford must have spent literally years on stage and it shows in his confident marshalling of the crowd and – especially considering his vintage – impressive vocal display. This is not a singer who needs to sidestep the high notes, or alter the key of the songs to rest his vocal cords or spare his blushes. But then his band-mates are no slouches either, Nibbs Carter and Nigel Glockler hammering down the rhythms with authority, Paul Quinn and Doug Scarratt peeling of classic riffs and solos at will.

It is the less celebrated Saxon moments which really make their mark on this excellent sounding live effort, 'Rock And Roll Gypsies' and 'Broken Heroes' are classy and considered (by UK Metal standards), 'Conquistador' is a latter day tour de force, while 'I've Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)' and 'Ride Like The Wind' both add a commercial streak not often heard in the Saxon canon. However, always a band who aim to please their fans, the long loved standards get pride of place, 'And The Bands Played On', 'Strong Arm Of The Law' and 'Wheels Of Steel' still sound as vital and fresh as ever.

While there was a period in their history were it didn't seem so assured (in the UK anyway, mainland Europe never bowed to fads), Saxon are again deservedly recognised as a British institution. 'St George's Day Sacrifice' however illustrates it is no nostalgia trip, Saxon are as forceful, relevant and downright fun as ever. Revel here in their power and their glory!

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 12 hours ago
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site