CD Reviews

Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators - 'World On Fire' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 02, 2014    
0.0 (0)
3787   1   1   0   0   0





It’s always a joy to hear genre legends operating at the peak of their powers.

Success hasn’t exactly been a stranger for Slash since he parted ways with Guns ‘N’ Roses, yet neither were his previous forays an unmitigated triumph. Slash’s Snakepit always felt like a stop-gap and when Velvet Revolver were good, they were great, yet when they weren’t... However through the arrival of his 2010 eponymous solo debut things suddenly dropped into place; songs featuring the likes of Ian Astbury (The Cult), Ozzy Osbourne, Chris Cornell (Soundgarden), Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge) and Fergie Duhamel (The Black Eyed Peas) immediately possessing a previously lost energy and focus in both song-writing and guitar playing. Key to the success of the whole thing though was the tour with Kennedy that followed leading to the pair teaming up as a writing and performing partnership for 2012’s even better ‘Apocalyptic Love’. Completing the line-up was drummer Brent Fritz (The Union/Alice Cooper), bassist Todd Kerns (Age Of Electric) and rhythm guitarist Frank Sidoris (The Cab).

Proving that Slash is now definitely in a band situation, the same four appear for “solo” album number three, ‘World On Fire’. Lead single ‘World On Fire’ opens the album, an unmistakable Slash riff spiralling straight into a burst of cowbell (I’m sold already!) and the authoritative vocals of Kennedy, which as before do have a wisp of a certain Mr. Rose about them, while still standing tall and proud on their own. It’s a bullish beginning, yet across the (rather long at seventeen tracks) album it is a standard easily lived up to. ‘Shadow Life’ struts in an undeniably G&R kinda fashion, second single ‘Bent To Fly’ pulls back the pace for a beautiful example of why Kennedy is viewed as one of the best current singers in straight-up Rock, his guitar-mate providing yet another in the collection of sublime solos this album delivers.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Usually I struggle with releases of this length, suggesting that picking the best twelve songs or so would have been a better battle-plan. Here, the only omission I’d have made is possibly the instrumental (Slash’s first), ‘Safari Inn’, with its slow shuffle coming across like a budget Joe Satriani. A nice idea, but… however balanced against the roaring dance of ‘Avalon’, the brooding stomp of ‘Beneath The Savage Sun’ and mid-paced ‘Iris Of The Storm’, then one indulgence can be forgiven.

It’s always a joy to hear a genre legend operating at the peak of their powers and while there was a time when it seemed Slash may never quite reach that stage again, three superb albums in a row confirm otherwise. If you were as taken by either ‘Slash’, or ‘Apocalyptic...’ as I was, then you’ll know exactly how ‘World On Fire’ sounds and how good it is.

Steven Reid  

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site