CD Reviews

Hazy Hamlet - 'Forging Metal' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2010    
0.0 (0)
3731   0   1   0   0   0




Brazilian heavy metal band Hazy Hamlet’s debut album.

This is Brazilian heavy metal band Hazy Hamlet’s debut album although they have a demo (‘Hazy Tales’) issued in 2001 and a 3-track EP (‘Revelation’) from 2003 under their belt. It has therefore taken a long time for the strangely-named band to get this far!

You’d never guess the band’s origins when noting song titles such as ‘Funeral For A Viking’ and ‘Chariot Of Thor’ and from listening to the true metal on offer you will find yourselves well and truly immersed in Manowar / Hammerfall territory, perhaps (and unfortunately) with an element of Spinal Tap thrown in for good (bad?) measure! Yes, Hazy Hamlet have done their research well and honed a sound that encapsulates all that is great about thunderous epic metal. They’ve got a great production too, but what we have from a band that comes across as competent rather than accomplished is a plethora of ideas thrown into a melting pot (cauldron?) where some work more effectively than others, but where there is always a danger of going completely OTT…

Played with sufficient volume (the walls should be shaking) and totally immersed into the intense, juggernaut-infused mayhem, you – the listener – will undoubtedly have an expression somewhere between a broad grin and utter disbelief fixed onto your face as you listen to this album. It’s far from being an interminable nuclear assault, of course, because the trademarks of true metal are all displayed proudly, so that the dramatic is laced with more introspective moments (‘Metal Revolution’) and moments of sheer beauty build into a mighty monster with a potent chorus (‘Field Of Crosses’). So much is completely generic (‘Forging Metal’) and clichéd (‘Chrome Heart’) and yet here is a band that has clearly put everything into producing a debut album that was fun to record and is for the most part fun to hear.

I did find album closer ‘The Faces Of Illusion’ a rather chugging, tuneless and hence charmless affair, however, but overall if you are an aficionado of music in this genre, performed with bravado and swagger that will easily transport you off into fantasy land, then this should be worth investigating.

Paul Jerome Smith

Available from:

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 7 hours ago
  • yvesrock : Hi,I ordered the 11th june the new Fireworks' magazine (issue 87) and I didn't receive it. Can you see if you sent it ? Best wishes Yves
  • yvesrock : Hi,
  • Berny : @Gazza2005: Please accept my apologies for the delay in processing your order. You should have received a confirmation mail by now. We are really trying our best to fix the payment issue as soon as possible. Thanks for your patience! PS: It seems as if you sent the payment twice, we sent you a refund.
  • Gazza2005 : I have bought issue 80 and I still ha e not had confirmation of my download. Please could this be sorted out
  • Gazza2005 : Hello. Can someone direct me to my download please
  • Gazza2005 : Can someone help please
  • Gazza2005 : It’s Fireworks 80
  • Gazza2005 : Just paid for my online version / download but I keep getting failure message. All paid for so what is going on
  • Berny : Sorted! Thanks for your patience, enjoy the magazine! :)
  • HenningHallq : Hey guys! I purchased FIREWORKS #87 yesterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account. Can you help me with this? Thanks a lot!
  • Siodmak : Really thanks !!!!
  • Berny : @Siodmak: Pls. do not worry about the error message, we currently have to process orders manually because of a n issue with our payment system. I do not want to bore you with technical details, but the redirection from PayPal to our shop does not work as it should, that's why your purchase is not assigned automatically. We are working on it! Sorry for the troubles & thanks for your understanding. We hope you like the new issue of Fireworks! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys : - ) same problem as with previous number: just purchased Fireworks Mag. 87, and this is the message: "We are sorry, but it looks like your transaction failed". I've paid it with paypol. Thanks for your help!!
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site