CD Reviews

The Steve Miller Band - 'Bingo!' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6291   0   1   0   0   0



Steve Miller's first new album in 17 years.

Steve Miller has said of this album, ‘This is a party record, man. It's about getting up and getting ready to dance. It's like the fraternity party gigs I used to play in college. I went through and picked all my favorite tunes that I really, really loved. I wanted to make this record forever; it started off as just kind of a goof, and then it got real serious.’

Well, it has had this reviewer (and fan of Steve Miller’s work) perplexed…It has been 17 years since previous album ‘Wide River’ was released and I know I am not the only fan who was hoping for some more new songs. So initially a disappointment then – but having listened to ‘Bingo!’ many, many times now I do have to declare it to be at least a minor triumph, and certainly fulfils the aspirations that Steve had for this album. It is rich in the blues, and what I will term ‘rock ‘n’ soul’ and to become absorbed by it is to be transported back across more than 40 years – to the sort of music to which I was listening (and its British equivalent) when I became bitten by the musical bug in the mid 60s, and to the sort of stuff that the Steve Miller Band has been playing for ever alongside the more psychedelic stuff in the late 6os and early 70s and the popularist stuff (‘The Joker’, ‘Rock ‘n’ Me’, Abracadabra et al) in the later 70s and into the 80s.

‘Bingo!’ is an album that is easy on the ear, is a great party album and is an effective tribute to the likes of Jimmy Vaughan, Howlin’ Wolf, B B King, Lowell Fulsome, Otis Rush, Jimmy Reed and others whose songs are amongst ones featured here. My personal favourites are the ones lead voiced by Miller himself, and ‘Hey Yeah’, ‘Don’t Cha Know’, ‘Sweet Soul Vibe’ and ‘Come On (Let The Good Times Roll)’ are all evocative of the period in which the band recorded the albums ‘Sailor’, ‘Brave New World’ and ‘Your Saving Grace’ and therefore particularly resonate with me.

Unfortunately I must conclude with a gripe. ‘Bingo!’ is available in two versions, a basic ten tracks or an enhanced version with four bonus tracks. Well, I cannot see the former appealing to anyone, particularly as it struggles to last for more than 30 minutes! This is appalling value for money. The bonus cuts add eleven minutes, but is still hardly great value in the digital age. Fans deserved better after a wait of 17 years…and as a party record it’s not long enough either!

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 18 hours ago
  • vialli999 : forget that last comment i found it....der
  • vialli999 : sorry but i must be really stupid how do i take out a subscription ?
  • vialli999 : I have the download i want a paper copy cheers tel
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site