CD Reviews

Tarot - 'Gravity Of Light' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 21, 2010    
0.0 (0)
3135   0   1   0   0   0




‘Gravity Of Light’ is an excellent introduction to the band and a damn good album to boot.

Why do some bands who rightly should be at the fore front of their respective musical genres, fail to make the impact that they so richly deserve? Answers on a postcard please. One such band (for me anyway) who have been plying their trade for close on 25 years is the melodic power/heavy metal powerhouse named Tarot. They have a famous bass player and lead singer in their ranks namely Marco Hietala (of Nightwish fame) though I will not dwell on this because that would not be fair to him or the rest of the band. Tarot you see are much more than just one person, they are a dynamic metal band that know how to write melodic, catchy, heavy songs that the other so called leaders of the genre who garner all the plaudits would kill to have in their arsenal. So with 25 years under their collective belts, and a new album you will want to know how Tarot sound? Well to these ears they sound bloody marvellous. 

Proof is as they say in the pudding and this pudding (sorry if your getting hungry) is a rich and delicious concoction of powerful heavy metal riffs, brooding vocals stellar musicianship topped of with great songs. ‘Hell Knows’ reminds me of Dio (R.I.P) era Sabbath, with it’s dirge like guitar and vocal melody line, ‘Rise’ is a power metal roller coaster ride, fast and heavy with a wonderfully catchy hook that eats into your brain. ‘Magic and Technology’ again has a Sabbathy kind of riff going on and is given a strong foundation to build on by the use of the Hammond organ on the song, the albums standout track for me is easily ‘Caught In The Deadlights’ which has an almost hard rock like melody line and another fantastic chorus. Ending the album with the cleverly arranged and orchestrated ‘Gone’ sees Tarot showing the others just how it’s done, the song is heavy yet beautifully constructed with light and dark passages that compliment each other and make this track a joy to listen to.

Tarot have been around for a quarter of a century, and if you’ve missed out their brand of melodic power metal then ‘Gravity Of Light’ is an excellent introduction to the band and a damn good album to boot.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 1 hour ago
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site