Enfarce - 'Superhero Diaries - Part 1' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/10/13/b2/enfarce-superhero-diaries-part-1-93-1419969190.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 30, 2014    
0.0 (0)
1716   0   1   0   0   0





This has some hallmarks of people furiously having a good time.

This is somewhat of a resurgence for Enfarce having originally surfaced as Enforce in 2001 with two EPs in 2002 and 2004. Either way, what a name and will there be a second time for Enfarce? On this evidence, they may well have several chances. This Finnish foray nominally offer Power Metal in the way of Helloween, Gamma Ray and Edguy that they say they do, but there's more going on than that. Ricky Tournee has a real Metal belt (not the type that keeps his leather trousers up) and as the songs progress, they lift their skirts and give a glimpse of their style, a little Hard Rock here, a touch of Melodic Rock there, even a little AOR.

And so 'I'm A Hero' and 'Gift Of Prophecy' give us the double kicks, twinkling synths and attacking riffs that you expect and it's all done well, but they lead out with more of a Hard Rock considered feel. 'Redeemer From The Stars' has all the signifiers too, all jammed together but given air and a commercial sheen which shouts "oy, give us a chance!" and 'All Hope Is Lost' then seals the deal with a pristine example of the genre.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

But 'Dawn Damage' beautifully confounds. It wheels in an organ and a Bluesy basis to tickle us with Classic Rock, soulful vocals and all, memorable melodies; it all works so well. 'Delusions Of Reality' tries this too, a softer side emerging through smoky guitars but mashing together a Power chorus but not entirely successfully.

Saddled with a silly science fiction concept (an inhuman superhero, Steel Enforcer who succumbs to earthly challenges) and seen as a cartoon band on their publicity, this has some hallmarks of people furiously having a good time and calls on some guitarist friends (Matias Kupiainen – Stratovarious and Francesco Fareri – Virtual Mind) to bulk out the appeal which you won't need; the music will do that all on its own.

Steve Swift

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us