Various Artists - 'Light My Fire: A Classic Rock Salute To The Doors' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 31, 2014    
0.0 (0)
1932   0   1   0   0   0

The Doors had great chemistry and this is something that you just can't recreate.

"Classic Rock stars have come together to salute The Doors". Various musicians and artists hailing from some of the best Classic Rock bands around, such as Deep Purple, Yes, Grand Funk and Rainbow, have created a sixteen track tribute album full of The Doors' major hits.

The great thing about TD, and perhaps a reason as to why their sound is really hard to re-create, is how each version performed differs from the last. It's what made each released track and live performance so unique; it was a captured essence of their emotion at that time of being played.

Jimi Jamison (Survivor), guitarist Ted Turner (Wishbone Ash) and pianist Patrick Moraz (Moody Blues) take on the first track, 'L.A. Woman', which is sadly an instant let down from what you would be expecting when you hear about a salute to The Doors. This is a heavily produced composition, especially for a song that originally has a real raw and exposed feeling about it - the guitar and keyboard are far too clean cut; so much so that it strays too far from a 'Doors-esque' track. The over-production seems to flow throughout the album - with the use of vocal effects to achieve that lower octave than Jim Morrison can reach; a prime example being 'The Crystal Ship'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Roadhouse Blues' is somewhat different. With Leslie West playing guitar and Rod Piazza on harmonica and vocals, there is also one overwhelming groove thrown into the mix. Brain Auger, a Jazz and Rock keyboardist, really hits the accents and pronunciations that Ray Manzarek knocks out.

One of the best representations on the record would be 'Touch Me'. The Rockabilly twang from Robert Gorden points to the original mood of the song. His drone and tone works extremely well for 'Touch...' and with Nik Turner (Hawkwind) on sax it is "Halleluiah" like praise when it comes to the sax solo.

There are a lot of interpretations of what these artists think could be The Doors; the music is something that is so hard to analyse, understand and interpret, yet is never so clear; but that is the beauty. Here there are some first-class portrayals and there are some like 'People Are Strange' that miss the mark completely. Jim Morrison and The Doors had great chemistry, they really knew how to play with the dynamics in a song and this is something that you just can't recreate.

Lara Kisel

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us