CD Reviews

Drowning Pool - 'Drowning Pool' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 21, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5411   0   1   0   0   0



Listenable, but ultimately mindless slice of squeaky-clean, All-American fun.

A decade of trials and tribulations has evidently made its mark on these former nu-metal monsters, who are presently peddling an altogether more accessible sound. Having been nip-tucked into stadium rock perfection, Drowning Pool’s early venom arguably died with former vocalist Dave Williams. Now armed with the gravel-throated talents of Soil frontman Ryan McCombs, the quartet are enjoying chart success most recently witnessed in explosive single ‘Feel Like I Do.’ Plucked from the band’s self-titled album, the anthemic ‘Feel…’ smacks of pure chemistry and a definitive style that looks set to take the UK by storm.

But the fact remains that Drowning Pool’s appeal is lodged in a generic combination of party anthems and power ballads, which, despite its crowd-pleasing scope, positively oozes big-budget US rock. Replete with arena chants and glittering hooks, the album’s more upbeat offerings are virtually identical from minimalist song structures to token power metal solos. The energetic likes of ‘Let The Sin Begin’ deliver an intense but short-lived burst of adrenalin that wanes with each repetitive minute. Something of an aggressive wildcard, ‘All About Me’ is tinged with a ghost of 2000 hit ‘Bodies,’ unveiling a violent marriage of meaty riffs and spiralling bass.

Adding further clichés, the album’s rock-star-getting-clean theme treads overly familiar territory, but it’s nevertheless forged from brutal honesty. Capturing unbridled pain, ‘More Than Worthless’ is a deliciously chaotic mix of bluesy acoustics and ghostly, distorted guitars. As McCombs snarls, ‘I’m down to one last cigarette,’ in his rich Indiana drawl, there’s no mistaking the raw emotion at the heart of his rasping verses. As witnessed in Drowning Pool’s stadium rock moments, the power ballad formula is also milked to excess, tainting the finished product with a rather synthetic feel.

With polished production and hard rock trademarks, Drowning Pool’s everyman appeal sacrifices musicianship in favour of chart-topping success. The end result is a listenable, but ultimately mindless slice of squeaky-clean, All-American fun.

Faye Coulman

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 12 hours ago
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site