CD Reviews

Spinning Chain - 'My Insanity' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 21, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4548   0   1   0   0   0




While the duo’s musical expertise is obvious, ‘My Insanity’ borders on cover act fodder.

Suffering a major identity crisis, genre-hoppers Spinning Chain resort to copycat tactics in a bid to attract a target audience. Though neatly produced, the bulk of ‘My Insanity’ amounts to little more than a Linkin Park tribute, showcasing creepily detailed knowledge of the band’s finest trademarks. But, with nu-metal’s heyday indisputably over, these once-popular trappings come off undesirably dated. 

Despite nods to brooding metal, the end result is as disappointingly mild-mannered as a preteen temper tantrum. Unwisely selected as an opening track, ‘Too Far Gone’ is a damp squib of rehashed hooks and simpering vocals. Worse still, the band’s flirtation with pop punk leans more toward a saccharine than catchy flavour. Following three humdrum tracks, ‘End Of My Rope’ finally offers a glimpse of promising material, with bone-crunching riffs strengthened by a solid rhythm section. Tinged with rock ’n’ roll’s swaggering axemanship, ‘Rope…’ features a flawless balance of muscularity and anthemic rock. Cinematic keyboards and industrial nuances add the finishing touches to this undeniably polished record. ‘Get Out’ exhibits a particularly slick range of nightmarish electronica and fragmented melody lines, boasting an ultra-modern appeal.

Taking a grungy, increasingly unimaginative turn, ‘Who I Am’ is a shameless Alice In Chains rip-off, parroting the late Layne Staley amid an iconic mass of sludgy guitars. As the album’s lawsuit-inducing content stacks up, Spinning Chain seem increasingly intent on piggybacking off the success of big-name musicians. Their muddled mix of influences balloons still further with the unexpectedly sunny ‘Let It Ride.’ Riddled with laidback, old school melodies, this random offering is an ill-fitting exception to Spinning Chain’s overwhelmingly moody angle. 

Toying with genres like a child playing at dress-up, Spinning Chain have yet to discover their own brand of modern rock. And while the duo’s musical expertise is obvious, ‘My Insanity’ borders on cover act fodder.

Faye Coulman

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day ago
  • Berny : @Raphone @colorvine: You should have received your download instructions by now, if you haven't, pls. send a mail to «email» - Sorry for the troubles!
  • colorvine : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site