CD Reviews

Iced Earth - 'Box Of The Wicked' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5534   0   1   0   0   0


Great value for money.

US power/thrashers Iced Earth are certainly no strangers to the world of box sets. They seem to get less interesting every time, actually, starting with the ‘Dark Genesis’ collection and those rare first releases, to the ‘Slave To The Dark’ reissues and now finally ‘Box Of The Wicked’, comprised of all the material they unleashed under the double concept record that was very much the baby of guitarist Jon Schaffer, an accomplishment he longed to initiate. If you missed out on everything the band have put out since their ‘Glorious Burden’ record (the first to feature Ripper Owens after Matt Barlow went astray), you will find it all here, all in wonderful digipack form, complete with poster, booklet, and a new live set record with the returned Barlow singing old favourites as well as a recording of the originally Owens-sung ‘A Charge To Keep’. Phew.

To be fair, most of you will already be familiar with the stuff you’ll find within this little (and rather eye-catching) set, but bugger it. I’m going to tell you anyway (it’s my job, after all. You’d be pretty pissed if you were looking at a blank page, wouldn’t you, minions?). What we have here is simple: the entire ‘Wicked Saga’ episode of Iced Earth’s career, with the exception of the album that started it all, 1997’s tremendously successful ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’. The first real piece is ‘Framing Armageddon’, a fast, blasting album of epic, thrashy, apocalyptic power metal with Owens at the vocal front and Schaffer laying down some of his most intense work thus far. ‘Overture Of The Wicked’ precedes this, an EP featuring the re-recorded ‘Something Wicked Trilogy’ from the aforementioned ‘Something Wicked...’ album (boy, are you confused yet?). The second major piece is the follow up album, the first with Barlow back in the fold, the immense ‘Crucible Of Man’, and of course, this is more of the same except perhaps it has a more epic feel due to the encroaching storyline. In addition to this, you get the coupling EP, ‘I Walk Among You’, with Barlow going over some of Owens’s tracks and improving them with his rich, sonorous wail. To round it off, you get the Graspop 2008 collection, which features a short live set from the band, with a particularly rousing version of ‘Dark Saga’, one of my favourite Iced Earth tunes.

You are getting a lot for your money here (fifteen quid is nothing considering this features five very well presented cds), and collectors will find this a nice addition to their library of the band’s previous gifts for the fans. Saying that, most of you will own these already, so only you’ll know if it’s worth picking up. At least it underlines this rather rocky patch in the band’s career, leaving the door open for Schaffer (currently busy with his classy Sons Of Liberty project) to pen some new material and bring the band back with a bang.

Bruce Turnbull

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 3 days ago
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site