CD Reviews

Oceans Of Night - 'Midnight Rising' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 07, 2015    
0.0 (0)
2081   0   1   0   0   0





A sonic feast.

This is the third effort from Progressive band Oceans Of Night. 'Midnight Rising' delivers a fullness of sound, embracing the essence of experimental explorations of Ambient and Progressive elements seated firmly in a Rock expression! The captain of this musical entity is one Scott Mosher (guitar, keyboards and bass) and the unique and powerful vocals you can hear are from Scott Oliva; both these gents are the driving force of OON.

They are both very accomplished in the independent Metal/Progressive music scenes and have recorded with other heavyweight groups; both men are also no stranger to the live scene as well. They came upon each other back in 2006 and began experimenting together, Mosher bringing in the Ambient and Progressive waves with Oliva contributing the harder edged, Metallic and Rock expressions.

OON was soon launched and now offer a full bodied musical statement. Often throughout this release, you can hear some very "Floydian" currents, blended with what one could relate to early Genesis. However, this is not direct copying or plagiarism, just heavy influences balanced perfectly with the two men's own writings and musical journeys.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The ten individual musical rivers do combine into an ocean of sound. Yet, you can explore each one on its own or become completely immersed in the whole, as this album's main property is one of total immersion. You can be carried away upon wave after wave of beautifully blended music—from the most delicate passages to the more aggressive expressions – and it is all done so effortlessly!

Although the core of the group is the two Scotts, they are joined by musical friends Alan Smithee on drums and percussion, Vivien Lalu on keyboards, Stephanie Warden on vocals and guitarist Chris Rifkin. The result is a cohesive, excellently executed performance that will hold your attention tenfold.

Melodic, yet strong – '...Rising' will leave you with wanting more. A recorded work that just lands under the term "epic"!! It is almost Symphonic in places and this record must be listened to very seriously. I would say that upon every listen, one will find something they did not know was there before – showing us the depth that Oceans Of Night are capable of creating. 'Midnight Rising' is a sonic feast – one that should be indulged upon time and time again!

Bruce E.J. Atkinson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us